Shawn Mendes to release ‘MTV Unplugged’ album

Multi-Platinum singer/songwriter Shawn Mendes announces the release of his MTV Unplugged live album on November 3rd. The live album was recorded during Mendes’ intimate set at The Theatre at Ace Hotel in Los Angeles, where he kicked off the reboot of MTV’s iconic Unplugged series. In addition to stripped-down versions of fan favorites such as “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back,” “Mercy” and “Stitches,” the album also features a cover of Kings of Leon’s “Use Somebody” into “Treat You Better”. MTV Unplugged is available for pre-order now and fans will instantly receive “Don’t Be A Fool” upon digital purchase.

The past year has been full of milestones for Mendes, who achieved his second No. 1 album with Platinum-certified Illuminate (Island Records). Shawn earned his second #1 at Top 40 Radio with “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back,” which topped both the Top 40 Radio and Billboard’s Pop Songs charts for two consecutive weeks. The single also earned Mendes his third No. 1 on Billboard’s Adult Pop Songs chart, making him the first artist under 20 to top the chart three times.

Mendes recently wrapped up the sold-out North American leg of his first-ever arena world tour, and will continue the Illuminate World Tour with dates in Australia and Asia through the end of 2017.

Since its debut in 1989, MTV Unplugged has been a cultural watershed of musical moments, featuring unforgettable performances from artists including Nirvana, Jay-Z, Eric Clapton, Bob Dylan, Bruce Springsteen, Miley Cyrus, Tony Bennett, Mariah Carey, Katy Perry, Lil Wayne, Adele and Florence + The Machine.


1. There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back
2. Ruin
3. Stitches
4. Three Empty Words
5. Patience
6. Bad Reputation
7. Don’t Be A Fool
8. Roses
9. Mercy
10. Never Be Alone
11. Use Somebody/Treat You Better

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: