Shelved Prince album ‘Welcome 2 America’ set for release

Previously unreleased project available July 30th

The Prince Estate has announced the release of Welcome 2 America, an album recorded in the spring of 2010 and then mysteriously archived by Prince before its release, for CD and 2 LP on July 30th. The statement album documents Prince’s concerns, hopes, and visions for a shifting society, presciently foreshadowing an era of political division, disinformation, and a renewed fight for racial justice. The album features some of Prince’s only studio collaborations with the bassist Tal Wilkenfeld, drummer Chris Coleman, and engineer Jason Agel, with additional contributions from New Power Generation singers Shelby J, Liv Warfield, and Elisa Fiorillo and keyboardist Morris Hayes, who Prince also recruited to co-produce the album.

The Deluxe Edition combines the 2 LP and CD versions of the album with a never before released Blu-ray of Prince’s full April 28, 2011 performance at The Forum, part of the Welcome 2 America Tour’s historic 21 Nite Stand in Los Angeles. The show is presented in stereo, 5.1 surround and Dolby Atmos, and includes 24 tracks from across Prince’s career, from his biggest hits to fan favorites to ten rare covers. In addition, the deluxe edition features a 32 page 12×12 book, exclusive poster and an embossed vellum envelope of limited edition memorabilia all housed in a luxe, gold embossed package. Experienced as a complete package, the Deluxe Edition provides an immersive view of Prince’s creative genius during his spontaneous, energetic, and thought-provoking Welcome 2 America era.

The vinyl edition has the 12 songs spread across three sides on 2 LPs in gorgeous gatefold packaging, with a custom etching on the fourth side. A limited edition gold 2 LP edition will be available through Prince’s online store.

A 7-inch vinyl of “Welcome 2 America” is also available through his online store. The disc includes the studio version of “Welcome 2 America,” accompanied by a previously unreleased live version of the song recorded on May 14, 2011 at The Forum. The live version of “Welcome 2 America” is performed in a medley with the Prince composition “Dreamer,” first released on 2009’s Lotusflow3r.

Deluxe Edition | CD | 2 LP


  1. Welcome 2 America
  2. Running Game (Son Of A Slave Master)
  3. Born 2 Die
  4. 1000 Light Years From Here
  5. Hot Summer
  6. Stand Up And B Strong
  7. Check The Record
  8. Same Page, Different Book
  9. When She Comes
  10. 1010 (Rin Tin Tin)
  11. Yes
  12. One Day We Will All B Free


  1. Joy In Repetition
  2. Brown Skin (India.Arie cover)
  3. 17 Days
  4. Shhh
  5. Controversy
  6. Theme From “Which Way Is Up” (Stargard cover)
  7. What Have You Done For Me Lately (Janet Jackson cover)
  8. Partyman
  9. It’s Alright (Graham Central Station cover)
  10. Make You Feel My Love (Bob Dylan cover)
  11. Misty Blue (Eddy Arnold cover)
  12. Let’s Go Crazy
  13. Delirious
  14. 1999
  15. Little Red Corvette
  16. Purple Rain
  17. The Bird (The Time cover/Prince comp)
  18. Jungle Love (The Time cover/Prince comp)
  19. A Love Bizarre (Sheila E cover/Prince comp
  20. Kiss
  21. Play That Funky Music (Wild Cherry cover)
  22. Hollywood Swingin’ (Kool & the Gang cover)
  23. Fantastic Voyage (Lakeside cover)
  24. More Than This (Roxy Music cover)

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11332