Sia releases ‘Reaper’ co-written by Kanye West

Sia has announced the release of a new song “Reaper” from her forthcoming album This Is Acting set for release everywhere on January 29th on Monkey Puzzle Records/RCA Records.

“Reaper” was co-written by Sia, Kanye West, Noah Goldstein, 88-Keys and Dom $olo and produced by Kanye West, Dom $olo, Noah Goldstein, 88-Keys, Jesse Shatkin, and Jake Sinclair.

Sia also revealed the track listing for This Is Acting by posting photos of each song title placed on theater marquees in various cities globally.

It was also announced this week that Sia will be performing her first full US live show in five years at Coachella.

Fans who pre-order This Is Acting will receive current single “Alive,” “Bird Set Free,” “One Million Bullets,” “Cheap Thrills”, and “Reaper” instantly.

Rolling Stone writes about This Is Acting’s first single “[‘Alive’ is] a devastating, electrifying vocal performance.” Billboard describes the song as “another full-throated, unfettered performance from pop’s most iconoclastic star.” NPR declares “Alive” “a soaring pop anthem,” and USA Today calls it “a coming-of-age anthem.”

In addition, Sia recently released her Alive Remixes EP featuring tracks from Maya Jane Coles, AFSHeeN, Boehm, Cahill and Plastic Plates. The Plastic Plates remix has been climbing the HypeMachine charts, peaking at #2 on the Popular chart.

Sia has performed her single “Alive” on Saturday Night Live, The Voice, and The Ellen DeGeneres Show.

The video for “Alive” has enjoyed millions of views and stars nine year old Japanese child actress/dancer Mahiro Takano. The video was directed by Sia and Daniel Askill, the same creative team behind the videos for “Chandelier,” “Elastic Heart” and “Big Girls Cry.” “Chandelier” crossed the 1 billion views last month.

In addition to Jesse Shatkin who produced “Alive,” Sia also worked with longtime collaborator/producer Greg Kurstin on This Is Acting. “Alive,” the album’s first single was written by Sia, Adele and Tobias Jesso, Jr. and was produced by Jesse Shatkin, who also co-wrote and co-produced Sia’s massive four-time Grammy nominated “Chandelier.”


Track Listing:

1. Bird Set Free (Capri Theatre – Adelaide, Australia)
2. Alive (Oxford Art Factory – Sydney, Australia)
3. One Million Bullets (The Academy – Dublin, Ireland)
4. Move Your Body (Everyman Screen on the Green – London, England)
5. Unstoppable (Phoenix Cinema – London, England)
6. Cheap Thrills (The Danforth Music Hall – Toronto, Ontario)
7. Reaper (Webster Hall – New York, NY)
8. House On Fire (Webster Hall – New York, NY)
9. Footprints (The Logan Theatre – Chicago, IL)
10. Sweet Design (Stubb’s – Austin, TX)
11. Broken Glass (Stubb’s – Austin, TX)
12. Space Between (The Forum – Los Angeles, CA)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.