Simple Minds celebrates 40 years with new collection, tour

Simple Minds 40: The Best of 1979-2019 available in a variety of formats

On November 1st, UMe will release 40: The Best of -1979-2019, a new compilation album that covers all 40 years of legendary band Simple Minds recording career. It captures their early experimentation, cross over chart successes, right up to their new imperial phase represented by songs from 2015’s Big Music and last year’s Walk Between Worlds, which was their highest chart success in over 20 years, charting at No. 4 in the UK.

40: The Best of – 1979-2019 will be available on a 3 CD Deluxe Edition, single CD, 2 LP colored vinyl and a 40 track digital format. It was remastered at the world famous Abbey Road studios and has spectacular new art designed by long-time collaborator Stuart Crouch, featuring iconic symbols by Malcolm Garrett which represent the 40 years.

Formed in the seventies, and named after a lyric – “so simple minded” – from David Bowie’s seminal 1975 single “The Jean Genie,” Simple Minds have become one of the most successful bands ever to come from the UK, selling over 60 million records worldwide, having number one singles on both sides of the Atlantic, and number one albums the world over, including five UK No. 1 albums: Sparkle In The Rain (1984), Once Upon A Time (1985) and Street Fighting Years as well as the concert recording Live In The City Of Light (1987), and the compilation Glittering Prize 81/92.

Compiled in conjunction with the band, the project presents the very best of Simple Minds extensive catalog It is a comprehensive overview of 40 years of one of Britain’s most successful bands, taking in the innovative sheen of “Promised You A Miracle” and “Glittering Prize,” the anthemic sweep of “Waterfront” and “Sanctify Yourself,” the firebrand strand of “Belfast Child” and “Mandela Day”, the colossus that is “Don’t You (Forget About Me)” and “Alive & Kicking,” and bringing things right up to date with the inclusion of a new track: a cover of King Creosote’s 2014 Song, “For One Night Only.”

“For One Night Only” captures Simple Minds unique talent of taking an already fantastic song – as they did with their cover of The Call’s “Let The Day Begin” on 2015’s Big Music album – and injecting its sentiment with added urgency. The result is a clarion call to their fans the world over, which is sure to become a momentous live moment on their 2020 world tour.

The collection is a reminder of one of the most musically diverse and adventurous careers ever in British music, which saw Simple Minds record some of the most beguiling and inventive music of the post-punk period. On songs such as 1979’s “Chelsea Girls” (from the band’s debut album, Life In A Day), and “I travel, Celebrate” (1980’s Empires and Dance), “Love Song, The American” (Sons and Fascination/Sister Feelings Call), Simple Minds set the standard for the British alternative scene.

From 1982 onwards the band produced some of their most inspiring and wide appealing work. Beginning with their 1982 classic album New Gold Dream (81-82-83-84), with several songs from the album included here, follow up album Sparkle In The Rain (“Up On The Catwalk” and “Speed Your Love to Me”), and culminating in two UK No. 1 albums and a No. 1 single: 1985’s “Once Upon a Time” (represented here by the aforementioned “Don’t You Forget About Me,” “Alive and Kicking” and “Sanctify Yourself”) and 1989’s “Street Fighting Years,” and the single “Belfast Child.”

Into the nineties Simple Minds continued to release albums and create gems, many of which have grown in stature amongst fans and become staples of their live set. Included here from the period are “Let There Be Love,” “See The Lights,” “She’s a River” and “War Babies.”

Over the past ten years Simple Minds has rekindled the magic that made them a vital artistic force in their early days, found themselves referenced by younger artists and playing to tens of thousands of people every year, all over the world. They have been the recipient of the Q Awards Lifetime Achievement and received universal critical acclaim for their recent albums. 2015’s Big Music was described by MOJO magazine as “their best album in 30 years”, and last year’s Walk Between Worlds was acclaimed across the board and became their most successful album in over two decades, culminating in their largest US tour to date. Two songs are included from each of those albums: “Honest Town” and “Blindfolded (Big Music),” and “Sense of Discovery” and “Magic (Walk Between Worlds).”

The group will celebrate their 40th anniversary with an 11 month world tour kicking off in early 2020. Beginning in Europe in February, they tour the UK in April.

3 CD Deluxe Edition | CD2 LP

CD 1:

  1. Waterfront
  2. Love Song
  3. I Travel
  4. Glittering Prize
  5. Sense of Discovery
  6. The American
  7. Up on The Catwalk
  8. She’s A River
  9. Someone Somewhere in Summertime
  10. See the Lights
  11. Jeweller to the Stars
  12. War Babies
  13. Belfast Child

CD 2:

  1. Home
  2. Magic
  3. Promised You A Miracle
  4. This Is Your Land
  5. Honest Town
  6. Glittering Prize (Acoustic)
  7. Waterfront (Acoustic)
  8. See the Lights (Acoustic)
  9. Let There Be Love
  10. New Gold Dream (81,82,83,84)
  11. All the Things She Said
  12. Once Upon A Time
  13. Don’t You (Forget About Me)

CD 3:

  1. Chelsea Girl
  2. Cry
  3. Hypnotized
  4. Stars Will Lead the Way
  5. For One Night Only – New Track
  6. Theme for Great Cities
  7. Life in A Day
  8. Changeling
  9. Celebrate
  10. Blindfolded
  11. Sanctify Yourself
  12. Mandela Day
  13. Speed Your Love to Me
  14. Alive and Kicking

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11288