Smashing Pumpkins box set gets massive multi-format reissue

As part of the continuing series of reissues of The Smashing Pumpkins’ acclaimed catalog via Virgin/UMe, the iconic alternative band is set to release four separate versions of their platinum-selling 1996 box set The Aeroplane Flies High in fully remastered form. You can pick it up on a massive 6 CD/1 DVD boxed set, 5 LP set and in standard and deluxe digital editions on July 23rd.

The original The Aeroplane Flies High was a five CD box set that featured expanded versions of singles from their acclaimed 1995 double album Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness, including “Bullet With Butterfly Wings,” “1979,” “Zero” “Tonight, Tonight” and “Thirty-Three.” Mellon Collie achieved Diamond certification by the RIAA for sales of ten million discs and digital equivalent per disc (five million copies of the double album).

These new limited edition box sets of The Aeroplane Flies High feature the original 33 track version and an additional 71 bonus tracks, expanding to 104 tracks total (90 audio and 14 audio-visual), encompassing unreleased demos, alternative versions and live recordings all newly remastered by Bob Ludwig. In addition to expanded versions of Aeroplane’s original five discs, a sixth disc contains live recordings from the 1996 Mellon Collie tour, while the DVD content is taken from a July 4, 1997, performance in Belfort, France. Included is a 46-page book with liner notes written by David Wild, plus extensive track-by-track notes by The Smashing Pumpkins founder-singer-songwriter-guitarist Billy Corgan for the original release’s 33 tracks. The box set has unique packaging with embossed foil wrap and twinkle stock for jackets.

The Aeroplane Flies High follows 2011’s acclaimed reissues of the band’s groundbreaking first two albums, Gish (1991) and Siamese Dream (1993), as well as 2012’s Pisces Iscariot (1994), the band’s third album, as well as their fourth album, Mellon Collie & The Infinite Sadness (1995).

The Smashing Pumpkins have created one of the most acclaimed bodies of work in musical history, selling over 30 million albums. The global catalog reissue campaign will last through 2013 and will encompass all the band’s albums and B-sides from 1991-2000, with other release dates to be announced.  The pivotal group’s many hits defined the alternative music era and continue to resonate on modern rock radio, influencing a whole new generation.

As The Smashing Pumpkins get the fully remastered treatment via these reissues, the band is excited to be moving forward by creating new music. They will soon start recording the follow-up to 2012’s acclaimed album Oceania (Martha’s Music/EMI Label Services/Caroline Distribution). It was created by the newly reformed band, including singer/guitarist/founder Billy Corgan, guitarist Jeff Schroeder, drummer Mike Byrne and bassist Nicole Fiorentino, at Corgan’s private studio in Chicago as a true album experience for listeners to fully immerse themselves in.

The band launched their 2013 world tour in Mexico this past March and is heading to Europe and Japan for summer dates through August 11.

6 CD/1 DVD | 5 LP

CD 1: Bullet With Butterfly Wings

1. Bullet with Butterfly Wings
2. …Said Sadly
3. You’re All I’ve Got Tonight
4. Clones (We’re All)
5. A Night Like This
6. Destination Unknown
7. Dreaming

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

8. Movers and Shakirs
9. Germans in Leather Pants
10. Millieu
11. Jackboot
12. A/Ab/E/B/F#
13. Rings
14. Ugly
15. Blaster Caster
16. Little Ditty
17. Verily I Say
18. New Waver
19. The Groover
20. Ravi Revi Roo
21. On The Loose
22. Slurry

(Tracks 8 – 22 Recorded at Gravity Studios, Chicago, IL, March 15, 1994 – March 16, 1994)

CD 2: 1979

1. 1979
2. Ugly
3. Believe
4. Cherry
5. The Boy
6. Set the Ray to Jerry

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

7. Tonight, Tonight (acoustic version/instrumental rough)
8. Jupiter’s Lament (Billy solo)
9. Zero (8trk demo)
10. Marquis in Spades (8trk demo)
11. Have Love Will Travel (8trk demo)
12. Infinite Sadness (Siamese outtake)
13. 1979 (acoustic)
14. Aeroplane Flies High (acoustic snippet)
15. Take me Down (instrumental)
16. Star Song (dat mix/vocal rough)

CD 3: Zero

1. Zero
2. God
3. Mouths of Babes
4. Tribute to Johnny
5. Marquis in Spades
6. Pennies
7. Pastichio Medley (LP only: with fades)

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

8. By Starlight
9. Set The Ray to Jerry
10. Mouths of Babes
11. Cupid de Locke
12. Galapagos
13. To Forgive
14. Lily (my one & only)
15. Here is no Why

(Tracks 8 – 15 Recorded Live at the Double Door, Chicago, IL, February, 27 1995)

CD 4: Tonight, Tonight

1. Tonight, Tonight
2. Meladori Magpie
3. Rotten Apples
4. Medellia of the Gray Skies
5. Jupiter’s Lament
6. Blank
7. Tonite Reprise

Deluxe Edition Bonus Tracks:

8. Stumbleine
9. Ugly
10. Meladori Magpie
11. God
12. Love
13. Pissant
14. Hello Kitty Kat
15. Special Winner’s Song
16. I Just Wanna Make Love To You

(Tracks 8 – 16 Recorded Live at the Double Door, Chicago, IL, February, 21, 27, 28, 1995)

CD 5: Thirty-Three

1. Thrity-Three
2. The Last Song
3. The Aeroplane Flies High
4. Transformer
5. The Bells
6. My Blue Heaven

Deluxe Edition Bonus Track:

7. Silverfuck (live 7/10/96)

CD 6: Live Inside the Dark Globe

1. Where Boys Fear To Tread (Cleveland, Ohio 7.3.96)
2. Zero (San Francisco, California 2.7.96)
3. Fuck You / An Ode To No One (Stockholm, Sweden 4.10.96)
4. X.Y.U. (Los Angeles, California 2.3.96)
5. To Forgive (Washington, D.C. 1.6.96)
6. Thirty-Three (New York City, New York 1.11.96)
7. Tonight, Tonight (New York City, New York 1.11.96)
8. Lily (My One And Only) (Washington, D.C. 1.5.96)
9. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans (Cleveland, Ohio 7.3.96)
10. Jellybelly (Gent, Belgium 4.6.96)
11. Bullet With Butterfly Wings (Los Angeles, California 2.3.96)
12. By Starlight (Buffalo, New York 7.2.96)
13. Bodies (Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 7.5.96)
14. Silverfuck (Copenhagen, Denmark 4.9.96)


Malsaucy Lake, Belfort, France, July 4, 1997

1. Glimpses
2. Where Boys Fear To Tread
3. Eye
4. Tonight, Tonight
5. Transformer
6. Thru The Eyes Of Ruby
7. The End Is The Beginning Is The End
8. By Starlight
9. Bullet With Butterfly Wings
10. Muzzle
11. 1979
12. X.Y.U.
13. Porcelina Of The Vast Oceans
14. The Aeroplane Flies High (Turns Left, Looks Right)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *