Snoop Dogg, Gloria Estefan among 2023 Songwriters Hall of Fame inductees

Event takes place this summer in NYC

Musical icons Sade Adu, Glen Ballard, Snoop Dogg (Calvin Broadus Jr.), Gloria Estefan, Jeff Lynne, Teddy Riley, and Liz Rose will become the latest inductees of the Songwriters Hall of Fame at the organization’s 52nd Annual Induction and Awards Gala. These legendary songwriters are credited with mega-hits such as “Smooth Operator,” “Man In the Mirror,” “Drop It Like It’s Hot,” “Rhythm Is Gonna Get You,” “Mr. Blue Sky,” “My Prerogative,” and “You Belong With Me.” The star-studded event is slated for Thursday, June 15th at the Marriott Marquis Hotel in New York City. Additional special award honorees will be announced soon.

“The music industry does not exist without songwriters delivering great songs first. Without them there is no recorded music, no concert business, no merch… nothing, it all starts with the song and the songwriter,” shares SHOF Chairman Nile Rodgers. “We are therefore very proud that we are continually recognizing some of the culturally most important songwriters of all time and that the 2023 slate represents not just iconic songs but also diversity and unity across genres, ethnicity and gender, songwriters who have enriched our lives and, in their time, literally transformed music and the lives of billions of listeners all over the world.”

Tickets for the Songwriters Hall of Fame event begin at $2,000 each, and are available through Buckley Hall Events at 914-579-1000 and Net proceeds from the event will go toward the Songwriters Hall of Fame programs, a 501(c)3 organization. The non-deductible portion of each ticket is $215.

Sade’s contributions include “Smooth Operator,” “No Ordinary Love,” “The Sweetest Taboo,” “By Your Side” and “Is It A Crime.”

Glen Ballard’s has written or co-written “Man in the Mirror,” “You Oughta Know,” “Hold On,” “The Voice Within” and “The Space Between.”

Snoop Dogg is known for “Drop It Like It’s Hot,” “Nuthin’ But A ‘G’ Thang,” “Young, Wild & Free,” “Gin & Juice” and “Next Episode.”

Gloria Estefan has written “Anything For You,” “Don’t Wanna Lose You,” “Words Get in the Way,” “Rhythm is Gonna Get You” and “Let’s Get Loud.”

Jeff Lynne is best known for his work with Electric Light Orchestra (ELO) and The Traveling Wilburys with George Harrison, Bob Dylan, Roy Orbison and Tom Petty. He has co-written “Mr. Blue Sky,” “Don’t Bring Me Down,” “Evil Woman,” “Livin’ Thing” and “Telephone Line.”

Liz Rose’s catalog includes Eli Young Band’s “Crazy Girl,” Little Big Town’s “Girl Crush,” and many hits with Taylor Swift including “Tim McGraw,” “You Belong To Me,” and “All Too Well,” among others. She’s also had cuts by Miranda Lambert, Gary Allan, Maren Morris, Gabby Barrett, Lauren Alaina, Ingrid Andress, Kenny Chesney, and more.

Established in 1969, the Songwriters Hall of Fame (SHOF) serves as a vital bridge between music’s past and future. In the Hall, musical pioneers are enshrined and celebrated, while the organization’s outreach to the music community grooms the next generation of troubadours. To qualify for induction, a songwriter with a notable catalog of songs qualifies for induction 20 years after the first commercial release of a song.

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: