Sony’s Music Unlimited streaming service previews Michael Jackson album

Epic Records is set to release the new Michael Jackson album, Xscape, on May 13th, but subscribers to Sony’s Music Unlimited service will get to to hear five tracks early.

From May 5th through May 9th, the streaming service will preview one new track each day and reveal exclusive artwork on their blog.

The project features eight new tracks, which the world will be hearing for the very first time on the new album. For the ultimate fan experience, Xscape will also be available as a CD/DVD Deluxe Edition, which includes all of the sourced Michael Jackson recordings in their original form and more. The album will also be available as a standard CD and LP.

When the King of Pop died five years ago, he left a large collection of unfinished studio material behind, as he tended to record more tracks than he used for each of his studio albums.

Jackson’s estate granted Epic Chairman L.A. Reid full access to more than 40 years of archives of recorded Jackson material where he recovered a number of songs that had finished vocals but not fully completed. He then enlisted the help of lead producer Timbaland — with contributions from John McClain, Rodney Jerkins, Jerome “J-roc” Harmon and Stargate to bring the songs to life by having them “contemporized” for release on Xscape.

The track, “Love Never Felt So Good,” was released to YouTube Thursday as well as Sony’s Music Unlimited.

CD | LP | CD/DVD Deluxe Edition


Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.