‘Southpaw’ soundtrack featuring Eminem due out July 24th on Shady Records/Interscope

Southpaw (Music from and Inspired by the Motion Picture), the soundtrack to The Weinstein Company motion picture Southpaw, will be released on July 24th — the same day the film hits theaters — via Shady Records/Interscope Records. Eminem serves as Executive Producer of the album, which includes two tracks from the multi-platinum rapper: the first single, “Phenomenal,” and “Kings Never Die,” featuring Gwen Stefani.

Eminem also appears on two songs from his side project with Royce Da 5’9″, Bad Meets Evil. In addition, the soundtrack includes music from 50 Cent, The Weeknd, Action Bronson & Joey Bada$$, Slaughterhouse and more. The soundtrack also includes two arrangements from the late James Horner, the Academy Award-winning composer (Titanic, Avatar) who scored the film and tragically passed away earlier this week. The complete track-listing for the soundtrack is below.

The film, directed by Antoine Fuqua (Training Day) and written by Kurt Sutter (Sons of Anarchy, The Shield), is the riveting story of Billy “The Great” Hope, the reigning light heavyweight boxing champion of the world (played by Academy Award nominee Gyllenhaal). Hope seemingly has it all, with an impressive career, a beautiful and loving wife (Rachel McAdams), an adorable daughter (Oona Laurence) and a lavish lifestyle. When tragedy strikes and his lifelong manager and friend (Curtis “50 Cent” Jackson) leaves him behind, Hope hits bottom, and turns to an unlikely savior at a local gym, Tick Willis (Forest Whitaker), a retired fighter and trainer to the city’s toughest amateur boxers. With his future riding on Tick’s guidance and tenacity, Billy enters the hardest battle of his life as he struggles with redemption and to win back the trust of those he loves.


1. Cry For Help (Part 1) — James Horner
2. Kings Never Die — Eminem feat. Gwen Stefani
3. Beast (Southpaw Remix) — Rob Bailey & The Hustle Standard feat. Busta Rhymes, KXNG Crooked & Tech N9ne
4. This Corner — Denaun
5. What About The Rest Of Us — Action Bronson & Joey Bada$$ feat. Rico Love
6. Raw — Bad Meets Evil
7. R.N.S. — Slaughterhouse
8. Wicked Games — The Weeknd
9. All I Think About — Bad Meets Evil
10. Mode — Prhyme feat. Logic
11. Notorious Thugs — The Notorious B.I.G. feat. Bone Thugs N Harmony
12. Phenomenal — Eminem
13. Cry For Help (Part 2) — James Horner

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.