Steve Perry details ‘Traces’ album

Former Journey singer returns after a 25 year hiatus

Yesterday (Aug 14th), we reported that legendary singer-songwriter and Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductee Steve Perry would be releasing his first new album in nearly a quarter century, Traces, on October 5th. The album will appear on Fantasy Records, a division of Concord Records. The former Journey frontman has detailed the project and speaks about his nearly 25 year hiatus.

“Years ago, I disappeared. There were many reasons, but mainly… My Love for Music had suddenly left me. I knew that simply stopping, was what I had to do. If music was ever to return to my heart, then and only then I would figure out what to do. If not… so be it, for I had already lived the dream of dreams,” he writes.

He continues, “Many years passed. One day, I began sketching some musical ideas with the creative freedom that I was the only one who would ever hear them. One song led to many. My Love for Music had returned. Then another beautiful thing happened. I found Love. My precious Kellie gave me a life I never knew I had. I lost her December of 2012. I now deeply understand the meaning of: ’It’s better to have Loved and Lost, Than to have never Loved at All.’

“May of 2015, I began recording. These songs are special to me. I respectfully ask that you please listen to them,
And whatever they make you feel, I thank you for listening.”

The famed singer introduces Traces with lead track “No Erasin’” and reassuringly greets fans with the opening line “I know it’s been a long time comin’.” The track is an emotional homecoming, a familiar welcome from the iconic voice and writer of Journey’s timeless, global hits including “Don’t Stop Believin’,” “Faithfully,” and “Open Arms,” as well as the significant solo success of “Oh Sherrie” and “Foolish Heart.”

“Putting thirty years into ten songs has certainly been an emotional experience for me. I started writing and recording these songs with the creative freedom that I was the only one who would ever hear them. Along the way, I rediscovered my love for music. Each track represents traces of my past, but is also a hopeful look into the future. I invite you to listen with an open heart.”

Produced by Perry alongside co-producer Thom Flowers, Traces is the artist’s most vulnerable and honest recording to date, balancing tremendous loss with enduring hope and beauty. The album is a collection of nine original tracks that encompass the spectrum of human emotion, and also features a beautifully re-imagined cover of The Beatles’ “I Need You.” It is the work of an artist who has reconnected with his music in a new way. Traces is available for pre-order on CD, 180-gram vinyl and digital download. Signed and exclusive bundles can be found via Perry’s website.

CD | 180-g LP

1. No Erasin’
2. We’re Still Here
3. Most Of All
4. No More Cryin’
5. In The Rain
6. Sun Shines Gray
7. You Belong To Me
8. Easy To Love
9. I Need You
10. We Fly

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.