Sting announces ‘The Last Ship’ album inspired by Broadway play

Sting is releasing a new album based on his upcoming Broadway play this fall. The Last Ship will be available on September 24th through Cherrytree/Interscope/A&M Records. The album will feature all new music by the superstar.

The album is inspired by Sting’s forthcoming play of the same name and explores the central themes of homecoming and self-discovery, drawing upon his memories of growing up in the shadow of the Swan Hunters Shipyard in Wallsend. His personal reminiscences illuminate universal truths – the complexity of relationships, the passage of time and the importance of family and community – to form an affecting, complex parable for our modern times.

The play, in which Sting has been creatively immersed for nearly three years, debuts on Broadway in 2014 and is a collaboration with Tony Award winners Joe Mantello (director; Wicked, Other Desert Cities), John Logan (writer; Red, Skyfall)) and Brian Yorkey (writer; Next to Normal). The Last Ship tells the story of the demise of the shipbuilding industry in 1980s Newcastle which had, for so long, shaped and overshadowed the city, its development, and its community.

The Last Ship album is produced by Rob Mathes who has produced Sting, Eric Clapton, Elton John, Lou Reed, Carly Simon, and engineered and mixed by Donal Hodgson.

The Last Ship will be available on CD, LP and a two disc deluxe version featuring five additional tracks. A super deluxe edition, containing two discs comprised of 20 tracks within special packaging, will also be sold as a physical product exclusively at AmazonMP3 will be the exclusive retailer for the 20 track, super deluxe digital edition.

CD | LP | Deluxe 2 CD | Amazon Exclusive

1. The Last Ship
2. Dead Man’s Boots
3. And Yet
4. August Winds
5. Language Of Birds
6. Practical Arrangement
7. The Night The Pugilist Learned How To Dance
8. Ballad Of The Great Eastern
9. What Have We Got? [feat. Jimmy Nail]
10. I Love Her But She Loves Someone Else
11. So To Speak [feat. Becky Unthank]
12. The Last Ship (Reprise)
13. Shipyard [feat. Jo Lawry]
14. It’s Not The Same Moon
15. Hadaway
16. Jock The Singing Welder
17. Sky Hooks And Tartan Paint [feat. Brian Johnson]
18. Peggy’s Song [feat. Rachel Unthank And The Winterset]
19. Show Some Respect
20. Practical Arrangement (Full Original Duet) [feat. Jo Lawry]

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *