Each offering is available for one week only

Taylor Swift is surprising fans with the release of Folklore, available at midnight ET July 24th/9 pm PT July 23rd via Republic Records. The project will feature 17 songs, with “The Lakes” being a bonus track, with eight unique collectible covers available for one week only via Swift’s website.

“Most of the things I had planned this summer didn’t end up happening, but there is something I hadn’t planned on that DID happen. And that thing is my 8th studio album, folklore. Surprise! Tonight at midnight I’ll be releasing my entire brand new album of songs I’ve poured all of my whims, dreams, fears, and musings into. I wrote and recorded the music in isolation but got to collaborate with some musical heroes of mine,” she shares.

“Before this year, I probably would’ve overthought when to release this music at the ‘perfect’ time, but the times we’re living in keep reminding me that nothing is guaranteed. My gut is telling me that if you make something you love, you should put it out into the world. That’s the side of uncertainty I can get on board with.”

Swift has enlisted Aaron Dessner, who has co-written or produced 11 of the 16 songs; Bon Iver, in which he co-wrote and lends vocals to a track; William Bowery, who co-wrote two tracks; and Jack Antonoff, who Swift says “is basically musical family at this point.” The album was engineered by Laura Sisk and Jon Lowe, mixed by Serban Ghenea and Jon Lowe. Photos were shot by Beth Garrabrant.

Deluxe physical options include “In The Trees” Edition, “In The Weeds” Edition, “Meet Me Behind the Mall” Edition, “Betty’s Garden” Edition, “Stolen Lullabies” Edition,” “Hide-And-Seek” Edition, “Running Like Water” Edition, and the “Clandstine Meetings” Edition.” Each vinyl edition will be pressed across two double colored LPs featuring a unique color for each one. The album will also be offered on cassette.

Each deluxe purchase comes with a digital standard edition of the project.

A video for “Cardigan” will also drop at midnight, which Swift wrote and directed. She even did her own hair, makeup and styling with a medical inspector overseeing production that included social distancing and everyone wearing masks.

Folklore drops less than a year after her seventh studio album Lover was released on August 30, 2019, her first in a multi-album deal with Universal Music GroupLover has been certified platinum by the RIAA and crossed the one million mark in U.S. consumption in under two weeks, and selling more albums in 48 hours than any album last year. It also earned the title of highest-selling album of 2019, and achieved “the biggest first-week total for any album since her own Reputation in 2017,” according to Billboard.

  1. The 1
  2. Cardigan
  3. The Last Great American Dynasty
  4. Exile (featuring Bon Iver)
  5. My Tears Ricochet
  6. Mirrorball
  7. Seven
  8. August
  9. This Is Me Trying
  10. Illicit Affairs
  11. Invisible String
  12. Mad Woman
  13. Epiphany
  14. Betty
  15. Peace
  16. Hoax
  17. The Lakes [Bonus Track]