‘The Art Of McCartney’ tribute album announced

Bob Dylan, Billy Joel, The Cure, The Who’s Roger Daltrey, Brian Wilson, Alice Cooper, Dr. John, Yusuf/Cat Stevens, Barry Gibb, Jamie Cullum, KISS and Chrissie Hynde are among the artists paying tribute to Sir Paul McCartney in a collection coming November 18th.

Each artist has recorded their rendition of songs from McCartney’s catalog including The Beatles to his early solo work, to Wings and his later solo career with McCartney’s backing band.

The compilation will be available in a variety of formats including the 34 track standard 2 CD, triple 12″, 180 gram vinyl and digital releases as well as a 2 CD/DVD set which features a documentary about the making of the release and more. A 42 track quadruple 12″, 180 gram colored vinyl set will also be available.

Rolling Stone reports that the most ornate edition is a deluxe box set, which has been limited to 1,000 copies, and includes signed artwork by Beatles associate Alan Aldridge, a USB drive designed to look like McCartney’s signature Hofner bass, the aforementioned DVD documentary, an audio documentary, an illustrated guide to the release, art cards, CDs, vinyl and a certificate of authenticity.

2 CD | 2 CD/DVD3 LP | 4 LP4 LP/5 CD/3 DVD Amazon Exclusive

1. Billy Joel – Maybe I’m Amazed
2. Bob Dylan – Things We Said Today
3. Heart – Band on the Run
4. Steve Miller – Junior’s Farm
5. Yusuf Islam – The Long and Winding Road
6. Harry Connick, Jr. – My Love
7. Brian Wilson – Wanderlust
8. Corinne Bailey Rae – Bluebird
9. Willie Nelson – Yesterday
10. Jeff Lynne – Junk
11. Barry Gibb – When I’m 64
12. Jamie Cullum – Every Night
13. Kiss – Venus and Mars/Rock Show
14. Paul Rodgers – Let Me Roll It
15. Roger Daltrey – Helter Skelter
16. Def Leppard – Helen Wheels
17. The Cure, featuring James McCartney – Hello Goodbye
18. Billy Joel – Live and Let Die
19. Chrissie Hynde – Let It Be
20. Cheap Trick’s Robin Zander and Rick Nielsen – Jet
21. Joe Elliott – Hi Hi Hi
22. Heart – Letting Go
23. Steve Miller – Hey Jude
24. Owl City – Listen to What the Man Said
25. Perry Farrell – Got to Get You Into My Life
26. Dion – Drive My Car
27. Allen Toussaint – Lady Madonna
28. Dr. John – Let ‘Em In
29. Smokey Robinson – So Bad
30. The Airborne Toxic Event – No More Lonely Nights
31. Alice Cooper – Eleanor Rigby
32. Toots Hibbert with Sly & Robbie – Come and Get It
33. B.B. King – On the Way
34. Sammy Hagar – Birthday

Bonus Tracks:

1. Robert Smith – C Moon
2. Booker T. Jones – Can’t Buy Me Love
3. Ronnie Spector – P.S. I Love You
4. Darlene Love – All My Loving
5. Ian McCulloch – For No One
6. Peter, Bjorn and John – Put It There
7. Wanda Jackson – Run Devil Run
8. Alice Cooper – Smile Away

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.