The White Stripes prep live ‘Under Amazonian Lights’ LP

The White Stripes are preparing to release Under Amazonian Lights, a double LP recorded live in Manaus, Brazil on June 1st, 2005. The set will be paired with a DVD of the footage and offered as Third Man Records’ 23rd Vault package.

The package is completely dedicated to the White Stripes and its time in South America as it celebrates the 10th anniversary of the duo’s Get Behind Me Satan album and tour.

The concert was the first rock concert ever at the grand Teatro Amazonas Opera House. It features a sublime cover of Bob Dylan’s “Lovesick Blues”, two versions (one electric, one acoustic) of “The Same Boy You’ve Always Known,” two versions of “Passive Manipulation” (both sublime), a snippet of Howlin Wolf’s “I Asked For Water” and ample marimba on “The Nurse.” Both LPs will be pressed on blood red vinyl with stark black wisps.

The set also includes a 7″ single, pressed on white vinyl, of “Let You Down,” a solo recording by Jack White around the year 2000. It features both electric guitar and electric bass and multi-tracked four-party harmony voiced by White throughout the song. The tune would later be re-purposed into the White Stripes 2005 recording, “The Nurse.” The B-side “Ain’t No Sweeter Than Rita Blues” is a quintessential White Stripes guitar/drums outtake instrumental that was recorded during the tracking of Get Behind Me Satan and subsequently unused and forgotten for the past ten years.

Among the extras included in this Vault package are a collection of newly designed postcards celebrating the White Stripes performances in Brazil in 2005 designed by Grammy Award-winning designer Rob Jones, a death head monkey enamel pin, a silk-screened White Stripes poster with some “super-secret hidden glow in the dark graphics” all packaged in a soft touch, telescoping box with the same devilish death head monkey graphic on the cover.

Memberships are $60 and are charged quarterly. Fans have until January 31st to sign up and receive this package.

LP Track Listing:

  1. Blue Orchid
  2. Dead Leaves and the Dirty Ground
  3. Black Math
  4. Love Sick (Bob Dylan)
  5. My Doorbell
  6. Passive Manipulation
  7. Hotel Yorba
  8. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known (electric)
  9. The Same Boy You’ve Always Known (acoustic)
  10. Little Ghost
  11. When I Hear My Name
  12. I Asked For Water (Howlin Wolf)
  13. Fell in Love With a Girl
  14. The Nurse
  15. Little Bird
  16. Death Letter (Son House)
  17. St. James Infirmary (traditional)
  18. Screwdriver
  19. Passive Manipulation (reprise)
  20. I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself
  21. (I’ll Be With You) In Apple Blossom Time (Albert Von Tilzer/Neville Fleeson)
  22. I Just Don’t Know What to Do With Myself (continued)
  23. Seven Nation Army

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.