Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

The Winery Dogs to release debut album this summer

The Winery Dogs, a new power rock trio made up of Mike Portnoy (Dream Theater, Avenged Sevenfold, Adrenaline Mob) on drums, Billy Sheehan (Mr. Big) on bass and Richie Kotzen (Poison, Mr. Big) on vocals and guitar, will release their debut self-titled album this summer. The CD will be released in Japan on May 15th via Victor Entertainment, and July 23rd in North America on Loud & Proud Records. The group has released two videos ahead of the album’s release that you can view below.

Official videos for “Elevate” and “Desire” were released over the last couple of weeks and features the band enjoying themselves rocking out classic rock style, a much warranted (and greatly appreciated) change to the current state of rock music. They could be identified as a modern day Rush who is following in the footsteps of Chickenfoot by staying true to rock and roll in the new millenium when everyone else is being produced as processed material. Portnoy describes the musical direction of the project as a mixture of 70s and 90s rock.

“It’s a classic rock kind of power-trio sound. If you picture the classic-rock bands of… the classic ones — [Led] Zeppelin, Cream, [Jimi] Hendrix, Grand Funk [Railroad] — if you take that classic-rock power-trio sound of the early ’70s, and then you sprinkle it on top with some of the modern kind of sounds of Soundgarden and Alice In Chains or Black Crowes or Lenny Kravitz… It’s in that vein; it’s kind of a [mixture] of all of those bands,” Portnoy states.

The band came together at the end of 2011 when Portnoy and Sheehan asked Kotzen to join their project following the departure of former Whitesnake and Thin Lizzy guitarist John Sykes who had a different work ethic than Portnoy. The trio came up with about 50 names before settling with The Winery Dogs due to Kotzen’s fondness of the name.

The band will tour this summer starting in Japan on July 16th in Osaka and July 17th in Tokyo. More dates are expected to be announced soon.


1. Elevate
2. Desire
3. We Are One
4. I’m No Angel
5. The Other Side
6. You Saved Me
7. Not Hopeless
8. One More Time
9. Damaged
10. Six Feet Deeper
11. Criminal
12. The Dying
13. Regret

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.



Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *