Thom Yorke debuting new band during Glastonbury livestream

Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, Tom Skinner form The Smile

Glastonbury Festival is pleased to announce that Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood and drummer Tom Skinner — henceforth known as The Smile — will be performing a first ever set of new, original music exclusively for the Live At Worthy Farm global livestream which premieres tonight (Sat, May 22nd) at 7 pm BST.

Taking its name from the Ted Hughes poem, The Smile is a new collaboration between Thom Yorke, Jonny Greenwood, Tom Skinner and Nigel Godrich.

This debut performance by The Smile is available only to ticket buyers and will be broadcast online and in full across four separate time zones, with staggered livestreams for the UK, Europe, Africa & the Middle East, East Coast North America & Central/South America, West Coast North America, and Australia, New Zealand & Asia.

Tickets are still available at worthyfarm.live, with purchasers also treated to spectacular full performances by Coldplay, Damon Albarn, HAIM, Wolf Alice, Michael Kiwanuka, IDLES, Jorja Smith, Kano and Wolf Alice, as well as guest spots from George Ezra and Róisín Murphy and a set from DJ Honey Dijon.

Filmed across the iconic Festival site, the uninterrupted five-hour show also features a unique spoken word narrative, provided by PJ Harvey, Jarvis Cocker, Kae Tempest, George The Poet, Kurupt FM, Little Amal and Festival founder Michael Eavis.

“We’re truly honored that Thom and Jonny have chosen our livestream event to premiere their brand new project, The Smile,” shares co-producer Emily Eavis. “Sadly, we are all unable to gather together at Worthy Farm, but alongside sets from other wonderful performers, this has all the makings of a special Glastonbury moment – and one we can broadcast to the world.”

By popular demand, two Sunday broadcast times have been added for the livestream at 2 pm BST and 7pm BST.

Thanks to a partnership with Trafalgar Releasing, the show will also screen in tandem at selected cinemas across the UK at 7 pm on Saturday, May 22nd.

Through an exclusive partnership with Canal+, French audiences can enjoy the livestream on CANAL VOD and myCANAL.

Livestream #1 – UK, Europe, Africa & Middle East: 7 pm BST / 8 pm CEST & SAST / 9 pm MSK & EEST / 10 pm GST
Livestream #2 – North America (East Coast) and Central & South America: 6 pm CDT / 7 pm EDT / 8 pm ART & BRT
Livestream #3 – North America (West Coast): 7 pm PDT
Livestream #4 – Australia, New Zealand & Asia (on Sunday, May 23rd): 4 pm ICT / 5 pm HKT & PHST / 6 pm JST & KST/ 7 pm AEST / 9 pm NZST

Glastonbury will return as a single day one-off event called Equinox in place of the brand’s annual Pilton Party “thank you” fundraiser this September.

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11288