Thomas Rhett announces double album

Part one of Country Again, Side A will drop April 30th

ACM “Entertainer of the Year” Thomas Rhett has announced he will drop Country Again, Side A, part one of a double album, on April 30th via Valory Music Group. The country star made the announcement via social media late Thursday (March 4th) night.

Country Again: Side A is everything I wanted to say when I was 19 years old, but hadn’t lived enough to know how to say any of those things yet,” Rhett shares. “It’s about the crazy journey that took me out into the world over the last ten years and ultimately brought me back home, more centered and content than ever, with a deep understanding for what’s important in life. I’ve had a blast sharing some of these songs in their acoustic form during quarantine and am blown away by the reaction the fans have already shown.”

With Side B planned for release later this year, Side A is entirely co-written by Rhett and is the result of a return to his initial inspirations as a young songwriter with a new perspective that comes from the challenges of 2020 and life in-between. It’s a musical and thematic return to roots for Rhett, an embrace of the sounds, stories, and methods that drew the superstar singer-songwriter to country music, yet required ten years of life experiences to have the perspective to write them. From the introspective title to track to personal moments like “To The Guys That Date My Girls,” a heart-stopping ode to his daughters and the rawness of grappling with the death of a close friend on “Heaven Right Now,” Rhett reaches new creative heights blending his penchant for authentic songwriting and current state of mind.

Teaming up with longtime producers Dann Huff and Jesse Frasure, Rhett had already been feeling a pull back to his roots and a shifting state of perspective with the music he was creating, when the pandemic struck and the world shut down. Suddenly the questions that were at the top of his mind became very real and unavoidable.

“How else do you slow down unless you’re forced to?,” he adds. “For the first time, I had to look at myself and say ‘Who am I? Who is Thomas Rhett without a microphone or a guitar or a stage?’ I had to really dig deep and figure it out. So in many ways, 2020 was a big ol’ reality check, a complete reset. And when I finally settled into myself and my family, and started to work again, it completely influenced all of my songwriting.”

Signed CDs are available for a limited time via Rhett’s webstore.

Rhett returns to the road May 6-8 with three shows at Billy Bob’s Texas in Ft. Worth before launching the postponed 2020 tour the following month.

1. Want It Again
2. Growing Up
3. What’s Your Country Song
4. Where We Grew Up
5. Heaven Right Now
6. To The Guys That Date My Girls
7. More Time Fishin’
8. Country Again
9. Put It On Ice (featuring Hardy)
10. Blame It On A Backroad
11. Ya Heard

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11502