Three new U2 vinyl reissues set for July 27th

Three new vinyl reissues from U2 are coming July 27th via UMe/Island/Interscope. Achtung Baby (1991), Zooropa (1993) and The Best of 1980-1990 (1998) have each been remastered and pressed on 180-gram double LP black vinyl.

Recorded over six months at Hansa Studio in Berlin and Windmill Lane in Dublin, Achtung Baby is U2’s seventh studio album. Produced by long time U2 collaborators, Daniel Lanois and Brian Eno with Steve Lillywhite, Achtung Baby was engineered by Flood and led by “The Fly,” and also featured four other singles, “Mysterious Ways,” “One,” “Even Better Than The Real Thing” and “Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses.” Released to widespread critical acclaim in November 1991, the record topped charts around the world, and saw the band take home the Grammy Award for Best Rock Performance.

Artwork based on the original and expanded to accommodate 2 LP discs and includes a lyric sheet. Vinyl reissue includes a download card for digital access to all 12 album tracks.

Zooropa, U2’s eighth studio album, was released in July 1993 and hit Number 1 in the UK, USA, Ireland, Japan, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, Italy, Sweden, Austria, France, Switzerland, Germany, Holland, Norway, Denmark and Iceland.

Produced by Flood, Brian Eno and The Edge, the ten tracks the project – inspired by the band’s experiences on the Zoo TV Tour – include singles “Numb,” “Lemon” and “Stay (Faraway, So Close!)” and were recorded in just six weeks in early 1993. And the 1994 Grammy Awards saw the band take home the prize for Best Alternative Music Album.

Celebrating the 25th anniversary of the album’s release, this vinyl reissue will see Zooropa released in a double LP format for the first time ever, featuring two mixes of “Lemon” and “Numb.” Artwork based on the original and expanded to accommodate 2 LPs. Vinyl reissue includes a download card for digital access to all 12 tracks.

U2’s first compilation release, The Best Of 1980-1990, went straight to No. 1 in the UK, Ireland, Canada and around the world on its original release in November 1998. The 16-track collection features seminal songs from early in the band’s career, as well as many of their biggest global hits.

The 2 LP format includes the track “One Tree Hill” from The Joshua Tree, only available on vinyl formats of this compilation. Artwork faithfully reproduced from the original, including a gatefold outer and printed inner sleeves. Includes a download card.

U2 - Achtung Baby

Achtung Baby

Side 1:

  1. Zoo Station
  2. Even Better Than The Real Thing
  3. One

Side 2:

  1. Until The End Of The World
  2. Who’s Gonna Ride Your Wild Horses
  3. So Cruel

Side 3:

  1. The Fly
  2. Mysterious Ways
  3. Tryin’ To Throw Your Arms Around The World

Side 4:

  1. Ultra Violet (Light My Way)
  2. Acrobat
  3. Love Is Blindness


Side 1:

  1. Zooropa
  2. Baby Face
  3. Numb

Side 2:

  1. Lemon
  2. Stay (Faraway, So Close!)
  3. Daddy’s Gonna Pay For Your Crashed Car

Side 3

  1. Some Days Are Better Than Others
  2. The First Time
  3. Dirty Day
  4. The Wanderer

Side 4 – Additional Remixes

  1. Lemon (The Perfecto Mix)
  2. Numb (Gimme Some More Dignity Mix)

U2 - The Best of 1980-1990

The Best Of 1980-1990

Side 1:

  1. Pride (In The Name Of Love)
  2. New Year’s Day
  3. With Or Without You
  4. Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For

Side 2:

  1. Sunday Bloody Sunday
  2. Bad
  3. Where The Streets Have No Name
  4. I Will Follow

Side 3:

  1. The Unforgettable Fire
  2. Sweetest Thing
  3. Desire
  4. When Love Comes To Town

Side 4:

  1. Angel Of Harlem
  2. All I Want Is You
  3. One Tree Hill
  4. October

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.