Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Tom Petty ‘Wildflowers’ alternate versions getting independent release

Tracks were previously only available in the limited edition 9 LP Wildflowers & All The Rest box

The Tom Petty Estate and Warner Records have announced Finding Wildflowers (Alternate Versions) for limited edition gold vinyl (exclusive to and indie retail), CD and digital on April 16th. The tracks were previously released on the limited edition Super Deluxe 9 LP and 5 CD version of 2020’s Wildflowers & All The Rest. A 2 LP black vinyl release will follow on May 7th.

The latest offering of Tom Petty music, curated with help from his loving family, bandmates and collaborators, features 16 studio recordings of alternate takes, long cuts and jam versions of Wildflowers songs as Petty, band members and co-producer Rick Rubin worked to finalize the album in 1994. The release offers fans further deep access into the writing and recording of Wildflowers, as well as realizing the full vision of the project as Petty had always intended.

The collection was produced by Petty’s longtime engineer and co-producer Ryan Ulyate who listened to 245 reels of 24-track tape, revealing Petty and his collaborators’ evolutionary process and finding the group willing to do whatever it took to discover the essence and magic in the material.

Wildflowers was originally envisioned as a double album upon its release in 1994, but songs were cut for space when it was truncated. Four of the songs were later released on the She’s The One soundtrack, and several of them appear on the American Treasure box set. In 2015, Petty released “Somewhere Under Heaven” as the first single from Wildflowers – All The Rest, calling it a “lost gem from one of the most prolific periods of Petty’s career.”

Petty often spoke about the project prior to his untimely death in 2017 at the age of 66 from a heart attack.

1. A Higher Place (Alternate Version)
2. Hard on Me (Alternate Version)
3. Cabin Down Below (Alternate Version)
4. Crawling Back to You (Alternate Version)
5. Only a Broken Heart (Alternate Version)
6. Drivin’ Down To Georgia (Alternate Version)
7. You Wreck Me (Alternate Version)
8. It’s Good to Be King (Alternate Version)
9. House in the Woods (Alternate Version)
10. Honey Bee (Alternate Version)
11. Girl on LSD (Alternate Version)
12. Cabin Down Below (Acoustic Version)
13. Wildflowers (Alternate Version)
14. Don’t Fade on Me (Alternate Version)
15. Wake Up Time (Alternate Version)
16. You Saw Me Comin’ (Alternate Version)