Trace Adkins sets 25th anniversary double album

The Way I Wanna Go will be released Aug 27th

Country star Trace Adkins returns with a milestone album on August 27th, back with new music to celebrate the 25th anniversary of his debut LP, Dreamin’ Out Loud. To celebrate, he has announced The Way I Wanna Go, a double album containing 25 tracks including the new single “Where The Country Girls At” featuring Luke Bryan and rapper Pitbull. Blake Shelton, Melissa Etheridge, Keb’ Mo’, Stevie Wonder and Snoop Dogg also make appearances on the project.

Marking his 13th studio album, the project finds a bold hit-maker with a singular voice at his creative peak, continuing down a road which has made him a member of the coveted Grand Ole Opry. Set to be released on Verge Records, exclusive limited edition merchandise including a commemorative 25th anniversary personalized platinum plaque, autographed CDs and cowboy hats, and virtual meet & greet experiences are available to preorder from Adkins’ Official Online Store.

The album is full of adventurous new tunes and as Adkins keeps one foot rooted in tradition – and the other on his own unique path.

“I don’t know where my place is gonna be when the history of what I did is written,” Adkins says of his 25-year legacy. “But 90 percent of the time, I said what I wanted to say and stuck to my guns and did what I wanted to do … And, this album is as good as anything I’ve ever done.”

Produced by Mickey Jack Cones and Derek George and featuring 25 songs to celebrate the silver anniversary, The Way I Wanna Go touches on all the aspects of Adkins’ storied career – from deeply profound ballads to clever-country party anthems, all steeped in the diverse sound of his Louisiana upbringing.

“I am at the top of my game right now as far as my craft goes,” the country star says. “I’m better at this than I’ve ever been in my life.”

1. “Where I Am Today” (Mark Holman/ Rhett Akins/ Dallas Davidson/ Ben Hayslip)
2. “Heartbreak Song” (Greg Crowe/ Johnny Garcia/ Adam Wood)
3. “Where The Country Girls At (feat. Luke Bryan & Pitbull)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
4. “Cadillac’n” (Kendell Marvel/ Dan Auerbach/ Paul Overstreet)
5. “Finding My Groove” (Dan Smalley/ Casey Beathard/ Houston Phillips)
6. “Cowboy Boots and Jeans” (Jim Beavers/ Lindsay Rimes/ Jonathan Singleton)
7. “Live It Lonely” (Kelsey Hart/ Kyle Schlienger)
8. “Love Walks Through The Rain (feat. Melissa Etheridge)” (Mickey Jack Cones/ Marla Cannon-Goodman/ Kelly Archer)
9. “Honey Child” (Monty Criswell/ Robert Counts/ Jimmy Ritchey)
10. “It’s A Good Thing I Don’t Drink” (Kerry Kurt Phillips/ Jamie Teachenor – produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
11. “Jesus Was A Hippie” (Monty Criswell/ Randy Montana)
12. “Memory to Memphis (feat. Keb’ Mo’ & Stevie Wonder on harmonica)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Curt Chambers)
13. “You’re Mine” (Mickey Jack Cones/ Steven Dale Jones)
14. “The Way I Wanna Go” (Barry Dean/ Troy Verges/ TJ Osborne/ John Osborne – produced by Jon Coleman)
15. “It All Adds Up To Us” (Trace Adkins/ Kenny Beard/ Matt Nolan)
16. “If I Was A Woman (feat. Blake Shelton)” (Trace Adkins/ Sherrié Austin/ Jeff Bates/ Kenny Beard – produced by Mickey Jack Cones/ Kenny Beard)
17. “Got It Down” (Craig Wiseman/ Brandon Kinney)
18. “Careful Girl” (Monty Criswell/ Tony Lane/ Brice Long
19. “Empty Chair” (Lance Miller/ David Frasier/ Lonnie Fowler)
20. “Cowboy Up” (John Pierce/ Tony Lane/ Jordan Walker)
21. “Somewhere In America” (Jon Nite/ Hunter Phelps/ Michael Hardy/ Zach Crowell)
22. “So Do The Neighbors (feat. Snoop Dogg)” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Shane Minor/ Calvin Broadus)
23. “I Should Let You Go” (Monty Criswell/ Tim Mensy)
24. “Low Note” (Monty Criswell/ Derek George/ Michael White)
25. “Welcome To” (Craig Wiseman/ Jacob Rice/ James McCormick

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: