Train announces Greatest Hits album

Following their co-headlining summer tour with Daryl Hall & John Oates, Columbia Records multi-platinum selling band Train has announced a Greatest Hits album set for release on November 9th via Columbia Records.

Train’s Greatest Hits celebrates 20 years of their music, pulling together 16 fan-favorites like “Drops of Jupiter,” “Calling All Angels,” and “Hey Soul Sister” plus a special cover of one of front man Pat Monahan’s favorite songs, George Michael’s “Careless Whisper” – Train’s version features world renowned saxophonist Kenny G. Fans can also be on the lookout for Train hitting the road again in 2019 with some familiar faces – more information to come in the next month.

“I have avoided a ‘greatest hits’ record for a long time. I’ve always thought of those records as a way of saying, ‘Welp, it was fun while it lasted’ and that stressed me out,” Monahan states about the project. “We live in a new music world now and having people be able to find songs they love faster and easier seems like a great idea. We’re proud and excited that this is the list of songs that built the band for 25 years. Hope they take you to as many great memories as they take us.”

Train’s self-titled debut album, released by Columbia in 1998 was the start of their now accomplished career – the tumbling wordplay of “Meet Virginia” gave them their first unlikely radio hit and 2001’s “Drops Of Jupiter” broke them to multi-platinum status thanks to the double Grammy award-winning title song that spent ten months in the Top 40, and earned the Best Rock Song Grammy Award. The group won another Grammy award in 2011 for their global hit “Hey Soul Sister,” the No. 1 best-selling smash and most downloaded single of 2010, from their multi-platinum album Save Me, San Francisco. Next was 2012’s California 37, which launched the double-platinum hit “Drive By” reaching the Top 10 in over a dozen countries. They’ve sold more than ten million albums worldwide, more than 30 million tracks, with multiple platinum/gold citations, including three Grammy awards, two Billboard Music Awards and dozens of other honors. Train has gone on to receive eight Grammy nominations and has had 12 albums on the Billboard 200 albums chart with their 2014 Bulletproof Picasso reaching No. 4 and 2017’s A Girl A Bottle A Boat debuting at No. 8.


1. Meet Virginia
2. Drops of Jupiter
3. Calling All Angels
4. Get to Me
5. Look to the Sky
6. Cab
7. Hey Soul Sister
8. If It’s Love
9. Marry Me
10. Save Me San Francisco
11. Drive By
12. 50 Ways
13. Bruises
14. Angel in Blue Jeans
15. Play That Song
16. Call Me Sir
17. Careless Whisper Feat. Kenny G

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.