‘True Detective Music From the HBO Series’ set for release on August 14th

Electromagnetic Recordings/Harvest Records in partnership with HBO will release True Detective Music From the HBO Series on August 14th. The album, produced by T-Bone Burnett, encompasses 14 tracks from Season 1 and Season 2 of the critically acclaimed series, and is now available for pre-order on iTunes. Fans who pre-order the album digitally will instantly receive Lera Lynn’s “The Only Thing Worth Fighting For.” The track got fans buzzing when it bowed in the teaser video for Season 2 of True Detective.

Additional songs from the 14 track soundtrack will be released at midnight after they are featured in Season 2 of True Detective. Fans who pre-order the album will receive new songs immediately as they are released. The full track listing will be revealed when the album is released on August 14th.

True Detective returns for its eight-episode second season on Sunday, June 21st (9-10 p.m. ET/PT). A bizarre murder brings together three law-enforcement officers and a career criminal, each of whom must navigate a web of conspiracy and betrayal in the scorched landscapes of California. Colin Farrell, Vince Vaughn, Rachel McAdams and Taylor Kitsch star. Written and created by Nic Pizzolatto, the HBO series was a worldwide sensation, nominated for dozens of international awards, including twelve Emmys.


Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.