Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Tupac, Katy Perry among 2014 Hollywood Walk of Fame inductees

Seven recording artists are among the celebrities set to receive stars on the coveted Hollywood Walk of Fame in 2014. Motown singers/songwriters Holland Dozier Holland, Electric Light Orchestra’s Jeff Lynne, Latin rockers Mana, “Ghostbusters” performer Ray Parker Jr., pop star Katy Perry, rock icon Rick Springfield and mega rapper Tupac Amaru Shakur, who will receive a posthumous star, will all be honored with their own induction ceremony next year.

The announcement was made Thursday (June 20th), prior to a milestone 2,500th star dedication ceremony for singer and actress Jennifer Lopez. This was the first time in the history of the Hollywood Walk of Fame that the Walk of Fame Selection Committee made a live announcement.

Each year, a new group of entertainment professionals skilled in the categories of Motion Pictures, Television, Radio, and Recording are chosen to receive the coveted Walk of Fame star. Each individual or group is chosen from among hundreds of nominations that are decided in the committee’s meeting and then subsequently ratified by the Hollywood Chamber’s Board of Directors.

Dates have not been scheduled for these stars. Recipients have five years to schedule ceremonies from the date of selection or they expire. Upcoming star ceremonies are usually announced ten days prior to each event on the WOF’s official website and through social media.

The rest of the 2014 Hollywood Walk of Fame recipients are:

Motion Pictures: Orlando Bloom, Ray Dolby, Sally Field, Jack H. Harris, Jessica Lange, Matthew McConaughey, Liam Neeson, Paul Mazursky, and Tom Sherak

Television: Dabney Coleman, Kaley Cuoco, Claire Danes, Giancarlo Esposito, Deidre Hall, Cheryl Hines, Don Mischer , Tavis Smiley and Phil Hartman (posthumous)

Radio: Renan Almendarez Coello (El Cucuy)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *