Two Jimmy Buffett albums reissued on vinyl

Jimmy Buffett’s classic albums, Songs You Know By Heart and A-1-A, have been released back on vinyl via Geffen/UMe, making the timeless records available for the first time in decades on the format they were originally released on.

Buffett’s beloved greatest hits album, Songs You Know By Heart, has remained a perennial favorite since it was released in 1985 and has sold more than seven million copies. Buoyed by his trademark single, “Margaritaville,” its success acknowledged at the time of release with the winking subtitle, Jimmy Buffett’s Greatest Hit(s), the album collects some of the songwriter’s best known songs including “Cheeseburger In Paradise,” “A Pirate Looks At Forty,” “Come Monday” and “Son Of A Son Of A Sailor.” These iconic tunes have become a part of our collective memory and fixtures in Buffett’s sold-out concert tours. The album is a perfect primer for those just discovering Buffett or for Parrotheads that want to replace their worn out copy.

Buffett’s fifth album, A-1-A, named for the beach access road that runs on and off U.S. 1 in Florida, was released in 1974. Described by All Music Guide as one of his “classic ’70s albums that established his persona,” and “a perfect introduction to his music,” the record is filled with the breezy, laid-back melodies and songs of surf, sun and good times that Bufffett has become known around the world for. From the carefree, autobiographical romp of “Life Is Just A Tire Swing” to the twangy, tongue-in-cheek “Door Number Three,” written with Steve Goodman, to the topical shuffle of “Migration,” it’s easy to hear why the album is considered one of Buffett’s best.

Buffett also has a brand new Christmas record guaranteed to get you in the holiday mood. Tis The SeaSon, released October 28th on Mailboat Records, features many classic Christmas favorites, as well as three new songs written especially for the album. The 13-track record also includes an updated Parrothead version of “The 12 Days Of Christmas.”

Jimmy Buffett - Songs You Know By Heart

Songs You Know By Heart

1. Cheeseburger In Paradise
2. He Went To Paris
3. Fins
4. Son Of A Son Of A Sailor
5. A Pirate Looks At Forty
6. Margaritaville
7. Come Monday
8. Changes In Latitudes, Changes In Attitudes
9. Why Don’t We Get Drunk
10. Pencil Thin Mustache
11. Grapefruit – Juicy Fruit
12. Boat Drinks
13. Volcano[/one_half]


Jimmy Buffett - A1A


1. Makin’ Music For Money
2. Door Number Three
3. Dallas
4. Presents To Send You
5. Stories We Could Tell
6. Life Is Just A Tire Swing
7. A Pirate Looks At Forty
8. Migration
9. Trying To Reason With Hurricane Season
10. Nautical Wheelers
11. Tin Cup Chalice[/one_half_last]

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.
Articles: 11277