UB40 announces 2019 tour

Tour kicks off August 2nd in Michigan

UB40 is embarking on a worldwide tour to celebrate 40 years and will bring their fans the timeless hits they’ve loved over the last four decades. UB40’s 40th Anniversary Tour will also kick off in early 2019, with shows across the U.S., the U.K., Europe and Australia.

UB40, an English reggae band have hit over 100 million records sold and have had dozens of chart-topping singles including “Red Red Wine” and “(I Can’t Help) Falling in Love With You.” The band has had over 50 singles on the UK single chart and has been nominated for the Grammy Award for the Best Reggae Album.

Now, with the 40th Anniversary Tour, there is going to be a lot to celebrate. To mark the milestone, in addition to going on tour, the group will be releasing a new album, For The Many, their 19th studio album. The album is due in March and features the kick off single “Moonlight Lover,” which was released last month.

The band will also be releasing two companion versions of For The Many. “We have really enjoyed making this album, a huge amount of work went into it,” Brian Travers explains. “It became a massive piece of work so, in addition to the regular version of the album, there will be a dub version and a collaboration version, featuring guest artists from all around the world.”

Co-vocalist and guitarist Robin Campbell adds, “For The Many is a great mix of reggae styles, while the different artists we have collaborated with will appeal to more fans and tastes in reggae – it really is an album for the many. The 2019 tour is a continuation of our 40th year celebrations, as well as sharing tracks from our latest album. Twenty-three dates around the US instead of a few arenas means that our fans from all over the USA can get to see us much more locally and up close – truly a tour for the many.”

“It’s incredibly exciting having the opportunity to revisit some of our favourite cities,” states Travers,”to travel the world playing our music to some of our oldest friends is a huge privilege and now we are back with our new album For The Many. Looking forward to seeing you all out there.”

In UB40 prime time, many of their songs hit #1 on the Billboard charts including “Red Red Wine”, “Can’t Help Falling In Love (From “Sliver”)”, “The Way You Do The Things You Do”, “Here I Am (Come And Take Me)” and “I Got You Babe.”

UB40 consists of five of the six founding members Robin Campbell, Brian Travers, Jimmy Brown, Earl Falconer and Norman Hassan in addition long-time members Duncan Campbell (vocals), Martin Meredith (saxophone), Laurence Parry (trumpet) and Tony Mullings (keyboards).

Tour Dates:

Date

City

Location

Friday, August 2, 2019

Detroit, MI

Chene Park

Saturday, August 3, 2019

Cincinnati, OH

Riverfront Live

Thursday, August 8, 2019

Huntington, NY

The Paramount

Friday, August 9, 2019

Boston, MA

The Wilbur

Saturday, August 10, 2019

West Long Branch, NJ

Monmouth University – Pollak Theater

Sunday, August 11, 2019

Washington, DC

Maryland Hall

Thursday, August 15, 2019

Atlanta, GA

Buckhead Theatre

Saturday, August 17, 2019

Bonita Springs, FL

Ibis Theater @ SWFEC

Sunday, August 18, 2019

Lake Buena Vista, FL

House of Blues

Tuesday, August 20, 2019

New Orleans, LA

House of Blues

Friday, August 23, 2019

Kamas, UT

Dejoria Center

Thursday, August 29, 2019

Tempe, AZ

The Marquee

Friday, August 30, 2019

Winterhaven, CA

Paradise Casino

Saturday, August 31, 2019

Indio, CA

Spotlight 29 Casino

Friday, September 6, 2019

Suquarmichs, WA

Suqyamish Clearwater Casino Resort

Sunday, September 8, 2019

Whitecourt, MB

To be announced soon

Monday, September 9, 2019

Edmonton, AB

To be announced soon

Wednesday, September 11, 2019

Calgary, AB

To be announced soon

Thursday, September 12, 2019

Regina, SK

To be announced soon

Friday, September 13, 2019

Winnipeg, MB

Burton Cummings Theatre

Saturday, September 14, 2019

Minneapolis, MN

The Cabooze

Friday, September 20, 2019

Waukegan, IL

Genesee Theatre

Sunday, September 22, 2019

Montreal, Quebec Canada

The Olympia

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.