Universal Music Enterprises reissues three Judy Garland vinyl albums | The Music Universe

Universal Music Enterprises reissues three Judy Garland vinyl albums

Judy Garland is one of America’s cherished show business icons, an international superstar who went from singing her way into our hearts as a child star in The Wizard of Oz crooning “Somewhere Over the Rainbow” to winning a juvenile Academy Award, a Golden Globe, a special Tony and numerous GRAMMYs during the course of her more than 40 years as a performer up until her death at the age of 47 in June 1969.

Universal Music Enterprises celebrates Judy Garland’s incredible legacy with a trio of remastered, 180-gram vinyl reissues of her greatest albums, including two-LP versions of both the 1965 “Live” at the London Palladium with daughter Liza Minnelli and the 1961 Judy at Carnegie Hall, along with a single disc of the 1955 studio album Miss Show Business are all available now.

The 50th anniversary edition of “Live” at the London Palladium features Garland and daughter Minnelli performing separately and together on two discs, joining forces on “Hello, Dolly!,” “Together (Wherever We Go),” “When the Saints Go Marching In,” “He’s Got the Whole World in His Hands” and several medleys. The new two-disc vinyl version of the album, which originally peaked at #41 on the Billboard 200 after its 1965 release, includes new liner notes written by Liza Minnelli.

Originally released in 1965, Judy at Carnegie Hall will also be reissued as two, remastered 180-gram vinyl discs, with new liner notes penned by Tony Award-winning playwright Terrence McNally (Kiss of the Spider Woman, Ragtime). This classic album captures Garland’s performance at New York’s fabled Carnegie Hall on April 23, 1961, dubbed “the greatest night in show business history,” marking her remarkable comeback from health problems. The album was a cultural phenomenon, spending 73 weeks on the Billboard charts, including 13 weeks at #1, eventually certified gold, winning four GRAMMY Awards, including Best Album of the Year (the first live recording and first female release to do so), Best Female Vocal Performance, Best Album Cover and Best Engineered Album. In 2003, it was one of 50 recordings chosen by the Library of Congress to be added to the National Recording Registry.

In addition, Miss Show Business will be reissued in a remastered, single-disc 180-gram vinyl 60th Anniversary edition with new liner notes contributed by Judy’s daughter Lorna Luft. This studio album, originally released in 1955 on Capitol Records, peaked at #5 on the Billboard 200, and features definitive versions of classics like “Rockabye Your Baby With a Dixie Melody,” “After You’ve Gone,” and “Over the Rainbow.”

Judy Garland and Liza Minnelli, “Live” at the London Palladium

A1 Overture
A2 The Man That Got Away (Judy Garland)
A3 The Travelin’ Life (Liza Minnelli)
A4 Gypsy In My Soul (Liza Minnelli)
A5 Hello, Dolly! (Liza Minnelli/Judy Garland)
A6 Together (Liza Minnelli/Judy Garland)

B1 Medley (Liza Minnelli/Judy Garland)
B2 Who’s Sorry Now (Liza Minnelli)
B3 Smile (Judy Garland)
B4 How Could You Believe Me When I Said I Love You When You Know I’ve Been A Liar All My Life (Liza Minnelli)
B5 What Now My Love (Judy Garland)

C1 Medley (Liza Minnelli)
C2 Make Someone Happy (Judy Garland)
C3 Pass That Peace Pipe (Judy Garland)
C4 The Music That Makes Me Dance (Judy Garland)
C5 Medley: When The Saints Go Marching In / He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands (Liza Minnelli/Judy Garland)

D1 Never Will I Marry (Judy Garland)
D2 Encore: Swanee / Chicago / Over The Rainbow / San Francisco (Judy Garland)

Judy at Carnegie Hall

A1a The Trolley Song
A1b Over The Rainbow
A1c The Man That Got Away
A2 When You’re Smiling (The Whole World Smiles With You)

A3a Almost Like Being In Love
A3b This Can’t Be Love
A4 Do It Again
A5 You Go To My Head
A6 Alone Together

B1 Who Cares (As Long As You Care For Me)
B2 Puttin’ On The Ritz
B3 How Long Has This Been Going On
B4 Just You, Just Me
B5 The Man That Got Away
B6 San Francisco
B7 I Can’t Give You Anything But Love
B8 That’s Entertainment!

C1 Come Rain Or Come Shine
C2 You’re Nearer
C3 A Foggy Day
C4 If Love Were All
C5 Zing! Went The Strings Of My Heart
C6 Stormy Weather

D1a You Made Me Love You
D1b For Me And My Gal
D1c The Trolley Song
D2 Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
D3 Over The Rainbow
D4 Swanee
D5 After You’ve Gone
D6 Chicago

Miss Show Business

A1 This Is The Time Of The Evening / While We’re Young
A2 Medley: You Made Me Love You (I Didn’t Want To Do It) / For Me And My Gal / The Trolley Song
A3 A Pretty Girl Milking Her Cow
A4 Rock-A-Bye Your Baby With A Dixie Melody
A5 Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe

B1 Judy At The Palace Medley: Shine On Harvest Moon / Some Of These Days / My Man / I Don’t Care
B2 Carolina In The Morning
B3 Danny Boy
B4 After You’ve Gone
B5 Over The Rainbow

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.