Van Halen to release first live album with David Lee Roth March 31st

Van Halen will release its first-ever live album to feature original singer David Lee Roth. Recorded on June 21, 2013 at the famed Tokyo Dome in Tokyo, Japan, Tokyo Dome Live In Concert includes 23 songs, spanning all seven of the band’s album’s with Roth. It will be released a double CD, four LP set on 180-gram vinyl and digitally beginning March 31st.

Van Halen reinvented the sound of hard rock in 1978 with its influential and wildly successful eponymous debut album and then achieved greater success six years later with 1984. Both albums would define a generation while selling more than ten million copies each in the US alone to earn diamond certification from the RIAA. The band recently went back to the original analog tapes and remastered both of these landmark albums — Van Halen and 1984 — which are now also set for release on March 31st through Warner Bros. Records.

Considered one of the greatest debut albums in rock rock history, Van Halen took the music world by storm in 1978 with an 11 song manifesto that features some of rock radio’s most played songs of all time and scorching concert staples like “Runnin’ With The Devil,” “Ain’t Talkin’ ‘About Love,” “Jamie’s Cryin,” the band’s signature cover of the The Kinks’ “You Really Got Me” and Eddie Van Halen’s finger-tapping tour de force, “Eruption.” Six years and five albums later, Van Halen had become one of the biggest bands in the world around the release of 1984, which includes a number of the band’s most legendary songs such as the #1 hit “Jump,” “Panama” and “Hot For Teacher.”

Mastering engineer Chris Bellman, who remastered the original albums at Bernie Grundman Mastering Studios, was enlisted for these new versions. In order to produce the original sound the band intended, Bellman cut straight from the quarter-inch tapes for CD, 180-gram vinyl, and for the digital versions. Newly mastered versions of Diver Down, Women and Children First, Van Halen II  and Fair Warning are now being cut (for CD, vinyl and digital) for release later in spring.

Tokyo Dome Live In Concert features an electrifying performance by singer David Lee Roth, guitarist Eddie Van Halen, drummer Alex Van Halen and bassist Wolfgang Van Halen. Mixed by award-winning engineer and mixer Bob Clearmountain (Rolling Stones, Bruce Springsteen, Roxy Music, Nine Inch Nails, and many more), and mastered by Chris Bellman, the album features such classic anthems as “Dance The Night Away,” “Beautiful Girls,” “And The Cradle Will Rock…,” “Unchained” and “Everybody Wants Some!!” as well as blistering versions of “Tattoo,” “She’s The Woman” and “China Town” from the group’s most recent studio album, A Different Kind Of Truth.

A deluxe collection featuring Tokyo Dome Live In Concert and the newly remastered Van Halen and 1984 albums, as both a four CD set and six LP vinyl set in special packaging, will also be available March 31st.


Pre-orders are not available yet, but a Van Halen fan from Missouri posted the following tweet on Wednesday (Feb 4th) with the non live Amazon links to the Deluxe 4 CD package and Toyko Dome In Concert 4 LP package.

2 CD | 4 LP

  1. Unchained
  2. Runnin’ With the Devil
  3. She’s the Woman
  4. I’m the One
  5. Tattoo
  6. Everybody Wants Some
  7. Somebody Get Me a Doctor
  8. China Town
  9. Hear About It Later
  10. Oh, Pretty Woman
  11. You Really Got Me
  12. Dance the Night Away
  13. I’ll Wait
  14. And the Cradle Will Rock…
  15. Hot for Teacher
  16. Women in Love
  17. Romeo Delight
  18. Mean Street
  19. Beautiful Girls
  20. Ice Cream Man
  21. Panama
  22. Ain’t Talkin’ ‘Bout Love
  23. Jump

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.