MCA Recording and 20 Grammy Award-winning artist Vince Gill and famed steel guitarist, Paul Franklin, are proud to announce the release of Bakersfield on July 30th via MCA Nashville. Gill and Franklin pay tribute to the Bakersfield sound by performing songs from two of Bakersfield’s sons: Buck Owens and Merle Haggard.

Gill and Franklin share the producing duties on the ten song set that makes up Bakersfield. The album was tracked in two days at Gill’s home studio, backed by a stellar band made up of John Hobbs on piano, Greg Morrow on drums, Willie Weeks and Brad Albin on bass, J. T. Corenflos on electric rhythm guitar, Time Jumpers’ Kenny Sears, Larry Franklin, Joe Spivey on  fiddles and Dawn Sears on harmony vocals. Gill played all the acoustic and electric guitar fills and solos.

“This is just as much a guitar record for me as it is a singing record,” Gill states. “But it was fun for me to sing a whole record of the greatest songs ever. I guess what I’m real proud of is that when it’s one of Buck’s songs, I sing it very much in that vein. And the Haggard songs are very much in the vein he sang. With Buck’s songs, you won’t find much vibrato in my vocals, and with Merle’s, it will come down to a low note and that quiver.”

“This may be Vince’s greatest project. What a showcase! I’ve heard him sing for 30 years, but he sings licks on this record I never heard before,” Franklin recalls.

“Vince and Paul offer a great new touch on a great old sound. It was great, certainly to hear my music done with the great touch of Vince and Paul,” Merle Haggard writes in the album’s liner notes. “I feel highly complimented. But it was especially great to hear what they did with Buck’s stuff. Some may not notice, but I for one knew how great Buck really was, first as a musician, then as an artist.”

The iconic singer/songwriter adds, “I can only give the entire project a big ole double, thumbs up! Well done guys, the West Coast takes a bow.”


1. Foolin’ Around
2. Branded Man
3. Together Again
4. The Bottle Let Me Down
5. He Don’t Deserve You Anymore
6. I Can’t Be Myself
7. Nobody’s Fool But Yours
8. Holding Things Together
9. But I Do
10. The Fightin’ Side Of Me