Volbeat announces eighth studio album

Servant of the Mind will be available Dec 3rd

Volbeat has announced the release of their eighth studio album, Servant Of The Mind, coming via Republic Records on December 3rd. The new album will be available in standard CD, deluxe 2 CD, deluxe 2 LP vinyl and a deluxe digital edition. Various limited edition vinyl variants will be released throughout the world including a translucent rust 2 LP exclusive to Volbeat’s webstore (limited to 500), a Revolver Magazine transparent yellow 2 LP (limited to 400), indie retail exclusive mystery color 2 LP (limited to 100). Four additional vinyl variants are exclusive to Europe, including Volbeat website exclusive crystal clear 2 LP (limited to 2,000), EMP exclusive glow in the dark 2 LP (limited to 2,000), UMG exclusive orange and blue 2 LP (limited to 3,100), and Denmark exclusive Danish red and white 2 LP (limited to 2,000).

For the album, the band — which consists of Michael Poulsen (guitars/vocals), Jon Larsen (drums), Rob Caggiano (guitars) and Kaspar Boye Larsen (bass) — took their signature heavy metal, psychobilly and punk ‘n’ roll sound up a notch while showcasing Poulsen’s keen ability for songwriting and storytelling.

“I wrote the whole album in three months,” recalls Poulsen, “I was in a good place and mood while at home, and had a captive audience of myself… There are a lot of Volbeat signatures in it. If you go back to the first record and compare it to where we are now, you can hear how the band has developed its style, while keeping the signature sound.”

To coincide with the album announcement, the band has released the new single “Shotgun Blues,” an anthemic track in which Poulsen explores the ghostly events he recently experienced upon moving into a new home. “Every time you move into a house, you bring dead people with you,” he explains. “Weird stuff happens when I move into a [new] house… it’s very otherworldly.”

The album also includes the “double barrel” of summer songs the band released this past June: “Wait A Minute My Girl” and “Dagen Før (feat. Stine Bramsen).” The former of which became the band’s ninth number one single on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart.

Other songs on the album weave intricate and fascinating tales. “The Sacred Stones” tells the story of “an earthly being who has committed himself to the dark side. He is on a mission, speaking to darker forces and fallen angels.” Meanwhile, “The Devil Rages On” looks at the idea of the devil taking human form. Album opener “Temple of Ekur” returns to the ancient themes explored in past songs such as “The Gates of Babylon,” while the epic album closer “Lasse’s Birgita” explores the story of the first witch burnings to occur in Sweden in 1471.

Tomorrow (Fri, Sept 24th), the band kicks off their Wait A Minute… Let’s Tour run, their first US tour in two years, at Atlanta’s The Tabernacle with shows in cities including Oklahoma City, San Diego, and Los Angeles. Special guests The Hu, Twin Temple, and Municipal Waste will be joining them for select dates.

Earlier this week the band also announced their 2022 co-headlining arena tour with Ghost and special guests Twin Temple, coming to cities including Seattle, Denver, Chicago, Houston, and Phoenix. Tickets for the tour, co-Produced by Live Nation and Frank Productions, will be available Friday, September 24th at 10 am local time via Ticketmaster with Limited VIP packages available at volbeat.dk.

Deluxe 2 CD | Deluxe 2 LPCD

1. Temple of Ekur
2. Wait A Minute My Girl
3. The Sacred Stones
4. Shotgun Blues
5. The Devil Rages On
6. Say No More
7. Heaven’s Descent
8. Dagen Før (feat. Stine Bramsen)
9. The Passenger
10. Step Into Light
11. Becoming
12. Mindlock
13. Lasse’s Birgitta
14. Return To None (Wolfbrigade cover) [Deluxe]
15. Domino (The Cramps/Roy Orbison cover) [Deluxe]
16. Shotgun Blues (feat. Dave Matrise from Jungle Rot) [Deluxe]
17. Dagen Før (Michael Vox Version) [Deluxe]

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com
Articles: 11255