Walker Hayes announces ‘Country Stuff The Album’

Album includes collabs with Carly Pearce, Jake Owen and Lori McKenna

On the heels of his smash hit “Fancy Like” reaching No. 1 at country radio, Walker Hayes releases his next single “AA” and announces his forthcoming album, Country Stuff The Album due January 21st.

Country Stuff The Album will include “Fancy Like” as well as previously released “U Gurl,” along with “AA” and 10 other tracks, including Hayes’ collaborations with Carly Pearce, Jake Owen, and Lori McKenna, and a re-imagined version of “Craig” featuring MercyMe. As always with Hayes’ music, each track on the project will be uniquely his, and share a range of emotion from nostalgia and pain to joy and good old fashion fun.

“I’ve been waiting so long to put out a project like this,” says Hayes. “It has everything I love from the fun of ‘Fancy Like’ to the more personal lyrics in ‘AA.’ As an artist, it’s such a unique thing to be able to share all the different versions of you in a project, and that’s really what I tried to do here.”

New single “AA” was written by Hayes with multi-GRAMMY Award Winner Shane McAnally and Luke Laird and produced by “Fancy Like” collaborator Joe Thibodeau and McAnally. The song taps into all the things fans love about “Fancy Like,” but this time, brings in Hayes’ deeper side. True to form, Hayes sings about the experiences of everyday Americans, with “AA” hitting on his anxieties as a dad, his love for his wife Laney, and his own journey with sobriety.

“At the end of the day, we are all just doing the best we can,” says Hayes about the track, “and what I really mean to say with this song is just that I’m trying to stay the course. I’ve struggled with alcohol abuse and sometimes I wish I didn’t need AA, but I do. I think a lot of people can relate to that. I’m just trying to be the best dad and husband I can be. It’s not easy all the time, but my wife smiles a lot and my kids are growing up with more than I had, and that’s a really good thing.”

Hayes will appear on CBS Sunday Morning on November 21st where he discusses the success of “Fancy Like.” He wrote and recorded the song at a tiny home studio. A week after its release, his daughter invented a dance to go along with it, and the track soared on TikTok. He also talks about his struggles of becoming a star after being dropped and passed by numerous labels in Nashville.

Hayes will be kicking off his headlining tour, The Fancy Like Tour, in Grand Rapids, MI on January 27nd.


  1. Drinking Songs
  2. AA
  3. Life With You
  4. U Gurl
  5. DeLorean
  6. Fancy Like
  7. Craig (feat. MercyMe)
  8. What You Don’t Wish For
  9. Country Stuff (feat. Jake Owen)
  10. I Hope You Miss Me
  11. Briefcase (feat. Lori McKenna)
  12. Cry
  13. What If We Did (feat. Carly Pearce)

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com
Articles: 11616