The Wallflowers revisit 15 years of ‘Red Letter Days’ on vinyl

On November 3rd, Interscope/UMe will celebrate the 15th anniversary of alt-rock stalwarts The Wallflowers’ fourth album Red Letter Days with a 2 LP vinyl reissue. Two versions of the album will be made available on wax: standard-weight black vinyl, and a special limited edition on semi-transparent red vinyl with black smoke marbling.

Red Letter Days, originally released in November 2002 and co-produced by ex-Wallflowers guitarist Tobias Miller and Bill Appleberry, built on the success of the band’s first three gold- and platinum-certified efforts: The Wallflowers (1992), Bringing Down The Horse (1996), and (Breach) (2000). Days also continued the arc of bandleader/vocalist/guitarist Jakob Dylan’s upward-trajectory as a vivid songwriter. Songs like the pulsating lead single “When You’re On Top” and the galvanizing thrust of “Everybody Out Of The Water” signaled the band’s move into a more aggressive sound, while still retaining their signature penchant for instantly catchy melodies and singalong choruses.

Red Letter Days also made its presence known in other ways, as the hopeful, uplifting “Empire In My Mind” was anointed as the main theme for the second and third seasons of the CBS procedural drama The Guardian, starring Simon Baker (The Mentalist) and Dabney Coleman (9 to 5, Buffalo Bill).

This past summer, The Wallflowers were back on the road together for a number of festival and headlining dates, in addition to opening for Buckingham McVie. Concertgoers were blessed with the occasional Days track making its way onto the band’s setlist, including the driving “How Good It Can Get,” the touching piano ballad “Closer To You,” and the insistent “Everything I Need.”

Fifteen years on, Red Letter Days continues to show just how good it can get when you have a stellar songwriter practicing his craft at the top of his game.

2 LP

  1. When You’re On Top
  2. How Good It Can Get
  3. Closer To You
  4. Everybody Out Of The Water
  5. Three Ways
  6. Too Late To Quit
  7. If You Never Got Sick
  8. Health And Happiness
  9. See You When I Get There
  10. Feels Like Summer Again
  11. Everything I Need
  12. Here In Pleasantville
  13. Empire In My Mind

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: