Whitesnake’s ‘1987’ album gets 30th anniversary deluxe edition

Whitesnake’s classic 1987 album is getting a 30th anniversary upgrade with four newly released versions on October 6th. The set will be available as a single remastered CD, 2 CD, 2 LP and 4 CD/DVD Super Deluxe Edition via Rhino Records.

Whitesnake: Super Deluxe Edition includes the original album with newly remastered sound, unreleased live and studio recordings, classic music videos, concert footage, a 30 minute documentary, featuring a new interview with David Coverdale, Whitesnake’s founder and lead singer. The music comes with a 60-page hardbound book that’s filled with rare and unseen photos from the era, an extended essay based on new interviews with Coverdale, plus a booklet of the album’s lyrics, handwritten by Coverdale. The audio will also be available via digital download and streaming services.

Both the 2 CD and 2 LP versions include the newly remastered album expanded with disc two of the Super Deluxe Edition included.

These collections marks the first release under a newly signed catalog deal with Whitesnake and Rhino Entertainment, the catalog division of Warner Music Group. This new deal includes both the North American and Japanese rights, marking the first time a substantial amount of the Whitesnake catalog will reside under Warner Music Group worldwide.

“It gives me great joy to finally have so much of my Whitesnake catalog all under the same roof with the Warner family and I’m thrilled to be now working with this tremendous team on a worldwide basis,” says Coverdale. “I have great memories of being with Warner back in my days with Deep Purple then when I was with Geffen, when they were distributed by Warner, so it feels like coming home to now have Whitesnake there. This elaborate reissue is the perfect project to kick off the new relationship.”

“Whitesnake is one of the all-time great rock ‘n’ roll bands, with David being an absolute icon as a vocalist and front man,” says Rhino President Mark Pinkus. “We are absolutely thrilled to now have so much of the Whitesnake catalog with Warner on a global basis and are excited for the fans to see what great releases we have planned for the coming years.”

Soon after its release in April 1987, Whitesnake became a huge success around the world, selling multi million copies. It peaked at No. 2 on the Billboard album chart and spawned four popular singles: “Still Of The Night,” “Give Me All Your Love,” “Is This Love” (which reached #2) and the #1 hit “Here I Go Again.”

Whitesnake: Super Deluxe Edition comes with an entire disc of unreleased live performances featuring Adrian Vandenberg, Vivian Campbell & Tommy Aldridge, recorded during the band’s 1987-88 tour. The music includes live versions of several tracks from 1987, plus Whitesnake classics “Slide It In,” “Love Ain’t No Stranger,” and “Slow An’ Easy.”

An additional disc spotlights the creative process behind Whitesnake with a selection of 11 unreleased demo and rehearsal recordings, including early versions of nearly every song on the album called 87 Evolutions. The final disc introduces newly remixed versions the album’s four singles, and includes rare radio mixes, as well as songs from 87 Versions, an EP released exclusively in Japan.

The DVD from Whitesnake: Super Deluxe Edition includes music videos for the four singles, all of which have been carefully restored and remixed in 5.1 Surround Sound for the first time ever. In addition, the DVD also features a new 30 minute documentary about the making of the album, a new promo video made especially for this set of the 1988 version of “Here I Go Again” and unreleased live footage from the 1987-88 tour.

CD | 2 CD | 2 LP | 4 CD/DVD

[one_half]CD 1: Original Album 2017 Remaster

1. Still Of The Night
2. Give Me All Your Love
3. Bad Boys
4. Is This Love
5. Here I Go Again 87
6. Straight For The Heart
7. Looking For Love
8. Children Of The Night
9. You’re Gonna Break My Heart Again
10. Crying In The Rain
11. Don’t Turn Away[/one_half]

[one_half_last]CD 2: Snakeskin Boots [Live On Tour 1987-88]

1. Bad Boys/Children Of The Night*
2. Slide It In*
3. Slow An’ Easy*
4. Here I Go Again*
5. Guilty Of Love*
6. Is This Love*
7. Love Ain’t No Stranger*
8. Guitar Solo – Adrian and Vivian*
9. Crying In The Rain*
10. Still Of The Night*
11. Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City*
12. Give Me All Your Love*[/one_half_last]

[one_half]CD 3: 87 Evolutions [Demos and Rehearsals]

1. Still Of The Night*
2. Give Me All Your Love*
3. Bad Boys*
4. Is This Love*
5. Straight For the Heart*
6. Looking For Love*
7. Children Of The Night*
8. You’re Gonna Break My Heart Again*
9. Crying In The Rain*
10. Don’t Turn Away*
11. Crying In The Rain (Lil’ Mountain Alternate Take Ruff Mix)*[/one_half]

[one_half_last]CD 4: 87 Versions [2017 Remixes]

1. Still Of The Night – Remix*
2. Is This Love – Remix*
3. Give Me All Your Love – Remix*
4. Here I Go Again 87 – Remix*
5. Standing In The Shadows – 1987 Versions, Japanese Mini-Album
6. Looking For Love – 1987 Versions, Japanese Mini-Album
7. You’re Gonna Break My Heart Again – 1987 Versions, Japanese Mini-Album
8. Need Your Love So Bad – 1987 Versions, Japanese Mini-Album
9. Here I Go Again – Radio Mix
10. Give Me All Your Love – Single Version[/one_half_last]


1. Still Of The Night – Music Video, Restored and Remixed in 5.1
2. Here I Go Again 87 – Music Video, Restored and Remixed in 5.1
3. Is This Love – Music Video, Restored and Remixed in 5.1
4. Give Me All Your Love – Music Video, Restored and Remixed in 5.1
5. Documentary about the making of 1987 Album*
6. Here I Go Again – Purplesnake Video Jam*
7. Crying In The Rain – 1987 Tour Video Bootleg*
8. Band Intros – 1987 Tour Video Bootleg*
9. Still Of The Night – 1987 Tour Video Bootleg*

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com