Willie Nelson announces ‘Last Man Standing’ 11 track album

Willie Nelson has announced that he will release Last Man Standing, an all new 11 track album, via Legacy Recordings on April 27th. This is the 11th project with the label and arrives just before Nelson’s 85th birthday on April 29th.

Last Man Standing will be available on CD, vinyl and digital formats. The first single from the project is the title track from the album, and Nelson shares the music video capturing the making of the track. The album is available for pre-order now and the single is available at all digital outlets.

Last Man Standing, comprised entirely of songs newly-penned by Willie Nelson, and longtime collaborator and producer Buddy Cannon, is the worthy successor to Nelson’s God’s Problem Child, which showcased seven Nelson-Cannon compositions and debuted at No. 1 on the country charts. The pair have been working together since 2008 with Cannon producing more than a dozen of Nelson’s albums.

The songwriting duo deploys a unique strategy of shared composition, beginning with back-and-forth text messaging of lyrics with the melodies. On Last Man Standing, Nelson and Cannon’s unorthodox approach generated eleven original songs, “Willie’s a jazz singer and jazz player. He’s an improvisational musician. It’s different every time. Get a good take and go with it,” says Cannon,

With Last Man Standing, Nelson has added 11 essential new songs to his classic catalog. One of Nelson’s most personal and introspective albums to-date, Last Man Standing reveals the emotional range of the country legend’s concerns, from the deeply reflective (“Something You Get Through,” to the rollicking and playful (“Me and You,” “Ready to Roar”)

An album that acknowledges the transience of time while marveling at the joy, beauty and surprise the world has to offer, Last Man Standing finds Willie Nelson rolling at a creative peak, writing and singing and playing with the seasoned wit and wisdom that comes from the road.


  1. Last Man Standing
  2. Don’t Tell Noah
  3. Bad Breath
  4. Me And You
  5. Something You Get Through
  6. Ready To Roar
  7. Heaven Is Closed
  8. I Ain’t Got Nothin’
  9. She Made My Day
  10. I’ll Try To Do Better Next Time
  11. Very Far To Crawl

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com