‘Yellowstone’ prequel ‘1883’ gets Blu-ray, DVD release

Series will be available to own this summer

Paramount+’s Yellowstone prequel, 1883, starring Tim McGraw and Faith Hill, is set to be released on multiple formats on August 30th via Paramount Home Entertainment. All ten episodes of the series will be available across 3 Blu-ray Discs, 4 DVDs and digitally for the first time ever with more than two hours of special features.

Extras include the previously unreleased featurettes, “A Land of Peril & Wonder: The Journey of 1883” and “From Cast to Cowboys: Creating the Pioneer Spirit,” along with “1883: The Road West – Behind-the-Scenes Special,” “Inside 1883,” and
“Behind-the-Story” featurettes for all ten episodes.

From visionary creator Taylor Sheridan comes a prequel to television’s No. 1 show, Yellowstone. 1883 follows the original Dutton family as they embark on a journey west through the Great Plains toward the last bastion of untamed America. It’s a stark retelling of Western expansion, and an intense study of one family fleeing poverty to seek a better future in America’s promised land — Montana. This acclaimed series features a star-studded cast including Academy Award nominee Sam Elliott, Tim McGraw, Faith Hill, with cameos from Academy Award winners Tom Hanks and Billy Bob Thornton, and Rita Wilson.

The limited series produced by MTV Entertainment Studios and 101 Studios achieved a record-breaking performance that shattered the streaming service’s record as the most-watched title ever globally. The series premiered in December 2021 and wrapped in February 2022.

Additional episodes of 1883 have been ordered in the form of 1923, which stars Helen Mirren and Harrison Ford in unknown roles. 1923 focuses on the Dutton family’s next two generations as they struggle to survive historic drought, lawlessness and prohibition, and an epidemic of cattle theft; all battled beneath the cloud of Montana’s great depression, which preceded the nation by almost a decade.

The series was originally named 1932, but renamed 1923 to encompass the end of World War I in 1918 and the start of Prohibition in 1920.

Default image
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com

Articles: 13739