Avril Lavigne’s iconic debut gets 20th anniversary reissue

Let Go (20th Anniversary Edition) features six bonus tracks

Arista Records and Legacy Recordings celebrate the 20th anniversary of Avril Lavigne’s groundbreaking debut, Let Go, with the release of an expanded edition of the album featuring six bonus tracks, including a newly recorded studio version of “Breakaway.” The digital edition is available now with a black 2 LP vinyl edition and Target exclusive red smoke edition due January 27, 2023.

Originally written and demo’ed for Let Go, “Breakaway” was cut from the album before Lavigne turned the song over to Kelly Clarkson who made it a No. 1 Hot 100 hit in 2004. Lavigne’s newly recorded interpretation provides a fresh take on the song and restores small poignant lyric references to Lavigne’s Canadian childhood. Lavigne’s new recording of “Breakaway” is available now with a lyric video.

Let Go (20th Anniversary) includes the 13 classic tracks from Lavigne’s breakout debut, her 2022 re-imagining of “Breakaway” and five additional bonus songs recorded during the original Let Go sessions, including “Why” (“Complicated” b-side); “Get Over It” (“Sk8er Boi” b-side, previously unreleased to DSPs); “Falling Down” (from the Sweet Home Alabama soundtrack); “I Don’t Give” (from the American Wedding soundtrack) and “Make Up” (previously unreleased to DSPs).

In addition to the new “Breakaway” lyric video, the official music videos for “Complicated,” “Losing Grip,” “Sk8er Boi” and “I’m With You” have had their resolution upgraded to high definition and may be viewed on Lavigne’s YouTube channel. Arista/Legacy will also be releasing pristine footage of Lavigne’s 2002 Top Of The Pops performance of “Complicated” on Wednesday, June 8th.

At age 16, Canadian singer-songwriter-performer Avril Lavigne signed a recording contract with Arista Records, who released the artist’s debut studio album, Let Go, on June 4, 2002. A seismic game-changing musical phenomenon, Let Go became the best-selling album of the 21st Century by a Canadian artist and established Lavigne as a pop-punk force to be reckoned with. She ruled the airwaves with anthems like “Complicated” and “Sk8er Boi” and helped pave the way for new generations of women to make uncompromising and unforgettable music, while bringing a punk-infused female pop sensibility into the mainstream.

The RIAA has certified the album 7x Platinum in the United States while “Complicated” has achieved 3x Platinum status, “Sk8er Boi” 2x platinum and “I’m With You” Platinum. The Canadian Recording Industry Association and Music Canada have certified Let Go as a Diamond album, selling more than one million copies in Canada.

Avril Lavigne has been announced as a member of the Hollywood Walk of Fame Class of 2022 and will soon have her own star unveiled on the Boulevard of Stars.

She is also touring throughout 2022-2023.

2 LP | Target Exclusive

Side A:

1. Losing Grip
2. Complicated
3. Sk8er Boi
4. I’m With You
5. Mobile

Side B:

6. Unwanted
7. Tomorrow
8. Anything But Ordinary
9. Things I’ll Never Say
10. My World

Side C:

11. Nobody’s Fool
12. Too Much To Ask
13. Naked
14. Why [Bonus Track]
15. Get Over It [Bonus Track]

Side D:

16. Breakaway – Newly Recorded Version [Bonus Track]
17. Falling Down [Bonus Track]
18. I Don’t Give [Bonus Track]
19. Make Up [Bonus Track]

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com