Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

Bad Company ‘Live In Concert 1977 & 1979’ 2 CD set coming April 29th

Rhino Records is set to release Bad Company’s first-ever live album to contain the original lineup of Paul Rodgers, Mick Ralphs, Simon Kirke and Boz Burrell on April 29th. The 2 CD set, entitled Live In Concert 1977 & 1979 includes more than two and a half hours of unreleased music from 24 track tapes in the band’s vault. The music heard on this live collection features absolutely no enhancements or overdubs, nothing but the band as they performed live on the night of the concert. The concerts will also be released individually as double-LP sets later this year.

Live In Concert 1977 & 1979 includes two previously unreleased concerts – with one additional track taken from the group’s June 26, 1979 show in Washington, DC.

The first disc captures the band’s show at the Summit House in Houston, Texas, which took place on May 23, 1977. It was recorded during Bad Company’s tour supporting its fourth studio album Burning Sky. After opening with the title track from the album, the band went on to play selections from all its previous albums: Run with the Pack (1976), Straight Shooter (1975) and Bad Company (1974). Among the crowd-pleasing highlights are strong performances of “Shooting Star,” “Ready For Love,” “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad” and “Feel Like Makin’ Love.”

The next disc fast-forwards two years to the band’s March 9, 1979 show in London, which was recorded during the band’s tour for its multi-platinum album, Desolation Angels. Several songs from that album were performed during the show, including “Rock ‘n’ Roll Fantasy,” “Gone, Gone, Gone” and “She Brings Me Love.” The group also performed several songs from earlier albums that weren’t part of the 1977 concert, like “Run With the Pack,” “Rock Steady” and “Can’t Get Enough.”

Live In Concert 1977 & 1979 also includes the band’s stellar cover of “Hey Joe,” which was recorded on March 9, 1979 at the Capitol Center in Washington, DC.


CD 1: Live at The Summit, Houston, Texas (5/23/77)

1. “Burnin’ Sky”
2. “Too Bad”
3. “Ready For Love”
4. “Heartbeat”
5. “Morning Sun”
6. “Man Needs Woman”
7. “Leaving You”
8. “Shooting Star”
9. “Simple Man”
10. “Movin’ On”
11. “Like Water”
12. “Live For The Music”
13. Drum Solo
14. “Good Lovin’ Gone Bad”
15. “Feel Like Makin’ Love”

CD 2: Live at The Empire Pool, Wembley, London (3/9/79)

1. “Bad Company”
2. “Gone, Gone, Gone’
3. “Shooting Star”
4. “Rhythm Machine”
5. “Oh, Atlanta”
6. “She Brings Me Love”
7. “Run With The Pack”
8. “Evil Wind”
9. Drum Solo
10. “Honey Child”
11. “Rock Steady”
12. “Rock ‘n’ Roll Fantasy”
13. “Hey Joe”*
14. “Feel Like Makin’ Love”
15. “Can’t Get Enough”

* Recorded at Capitol Center, Washington, DC (6/26/79)

Tour Dates:

5/12/2016 – Dallas, TX @ Gexa Energy Pavilion
5/15/2016 – Morrison, CO @ Red Rocks Amphitheatre
5/17/2016 – Concord, CA @ Concord Pavilion
5/18/2016 – Chula Vista, CA @ Sleep Train Amphitheatre
5/20/2016 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Forum
5/22/2016 – Phoenix, AZ @ AK-Chin Pavilion
5/24/2016 – The Woodlands, TX @ The Cynthia Woods Mitchell Pavilion
5/26/2016 – New Orleans, LA @ Bold Sphere Music at Champions Square
5/28/2016 – Tampa, FL @ MidFlorida Credit Union Amphitheatre
5/29/2016 – W. Palm Beach, FL @ Cruzan Amphitheatre
6/7/2016 – Darien Center, NY @ Darien Lake Performing Arts Center
6/9/2016 – Mansfield, MA @ Xfinity Center
6/11/2016 – Holmdel, NJ @ PNC Bank Arts Center
6/12/2016 – Camden, NJ @ BB&T Pavillion
6/14/2016 – Wantagh, NY @ Nikon At Jones Beach Theater
6/16/2016 – Noblesville, IN @ Klipsch Music Center
6/18/2016 – St Louis, MO @ Hollywood Casino Amphitheatre
6/20/2016 – Kansas City, MO @ Starlight Theatre
6/22/2016 – Clarkston, MI @ DTE Energy Music Theatre
6/23/2016 – Chicago, IL @ FirstMerit Bank Pavilion
6/26/2016 – Cuyahoga Falls, OH @ Blossom Music Center
6/28/2016 – Pittsburgh, PA @ First Niagara Pavilion
6/30/2016 – Charlotte, NC @ PNC Music Pavillion
7/3/2016 – Nashville, TN @ Carl Black Chevy Woods Amphitheatre

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.