Brett Young announces ‘The Acoustic Sessions EP’

EP features Young re-imagining his favorite album cuts

Following a Teen Choice Awards nomination this week for Choice Country Artist, Brett Young has announced that he will release The Acoustic Sessions EP on September 13th via BMLG Records. The fresh, stripped-down collection features five tracks co-written by Young from his chart-topping album Ticket To L.A., lauded by critics as “…his ticket to country superstardom” (Newsday). Young delivers the acoustic treatment to his multi-week No. 1 smash “Here Tonight,” which has surpassed over 130 million streams, as well as his brand new single “Catch,” layered with “emotional balladry” (UpRoxx). New tracks and accompanying videos will continue to be unveiled monthly, culminating with the EP’s full release on September 13th as it approaches the album’s one year anniversary.

The Acoustic Sessions EP demonstrates Young’s “breezy feel” (Billboard), reimagining fan-favorite album cuts while highlighting his “effortlessly soulful voice” (Music Row Magazine). In addition to Ticket To L.A.’s lead singles, the EP features the “heart-wrenching” (Tennessean), “Don’t Wanna Write This Song” (out July 19th), autobiographical “Chapters” featuring Gavin DeGraw (out August 16th), and the album’s the title track (out September 13th).

Next up, the chart-topper who “knows how to work a crowd” (OC Register) is plotting a stadium-sized weekend, first joining Luke Bryan’s Sunset Repeat Tour at Boston’s Gillette Stadium Friday, June 21st before returning to Country LakeShake in Chicago Saturday, June 22nd.

1. Here Tonight (Brett Young, Ben Caver, Justin Ebach, Charles Kelley)
2. Catch (Brett Young, Ross Copperman, Ashley Gorley)
3. Don’t Wanna Write This Song (Brett Young, Zach Crowell, Sean McConnell)
4. Chapters (Brett Young, Ross Copperman, Gavin DeGraw)
5. Ticket to L.A. (Brett Young, Zach Crowell, Jon Nite)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.