En Vogue announces ‘Born to Sing: 30th Anniversary Expanded Edition’

Reissue kicks off group’s 30th anniversary

En Vogue is celebrating 30 years with an expanded reissue of their 1990 debut album, Born To Sing. Born To Sing: 30th Anniversary Expanded Edition will be released on April 3rd via Rhino Records.

This 21 track collection includes a newly remastered version of the original album, plus a selection of rare mixes, most of which are available digitally for the first time. The music will be available the same day the original album was released in 1990.

With Born to Sing, the all female R&B and pop group struck a chord immediately, landing three songs at No. 1 on the Hot R&B songs chart: “Hold On,” “Lies” and “You Don’t Have To Worry.” Certified platinum, the album was a crossover sensation, reaching No. 21 on the Billboard 200 chart and No. 3 on the R&B Albums chart. In addition, the album scored the group numerous honors, including a Billboard Music Award and a Soul Train Award, as well as a Grammy nomination.

As an added treat, this newly remastered 30th Anniversary Expanded Edition of Born to Sing also features remastered versions of nine non-album tracks, including an extended version of “Hold On,” the radio edit for “Don’t Go,” and the Lo Cal Mix of “You Don’t Have to Worry.”

Since the group’s debut, En Vogue, founded in Oakland, CA by Denzil Foster and Thomas McElroy with original members Terry Ellis, Cindy Herron, Dawn Robinson and Maxine Jones, has gone on to sell 20 million albums and still counting. Their many accolades include Billboard awards, American Music Awards, VMAs, and seven Grammy nominations.

Firmly establishing their legacy, En Vogue, now a trio, with original members Ellis and Herron, joined by Rhona Bennett, who has been with the group since 2003, is still in demand, actively touring and recording. In 2018, they released their album, Electric Café, featuring the single “Rocket,” which gave them their first Top 5 hit in 20 years (Adult R&B songs chart). The trio also made an appearance on Chance the Rapper’s 2019 album, The Big Day, on the track “I Got You (Always and Forever).” In October 2019, all five members reunited and performed at the City of Hope Gala honoring Sylvia Rhone.

1. Party
2. Strange
3. Lies
4. Hip Hop Bugle Boy
5. Hold On
6. Part of Me
7. You Don’t Have to Worry
8. Time Goes On
9. Just Can’t Stay Away
10. Don’t Go
11. Luv Lines
12. Waitin’ on You
13. Hold On (Extended Version)
14. Lies (The Extended Avant Garde Remix)
15. You Don’t Have to Worry (Club New Breed Remix)
16. Don’t Go (Radio Edit)
17. Desperately (featuring En Vogue)
18. You Don’t Have to Worry (Lo Cal Mix)
19. Lies (Kwame’s Bone Age Remix)
20. Hold On (Dub Version)
21. Mover (B-Side)

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com
Articles: 11603