James Taylor Warner Bros Records albums compiled into box sets

Remastered for CD and LP box sets

Between 1970 and 1976, James Taylor released six albums with Warner Bros. Records that became the foundation for his unparalleled career that includes five Grammy Awards, induction into the Songwriters and Rock and Roll Halls of Fame, and more than 100 million records sold worldwide.

Rhino pays tribute to Taylor with a new collection that introduces newly remastered versions of all his Warner Bros. albums. The Complete Warner Bros. Albums: 1970-1976 will be available on July 19th from Rhino as both 6 CD and 180-gram 6 LP sets as well as digitally. This collection brings several albums back into print on vinyl for the first time in many years. The newly remastered version of “Fire And Rain” is available now on all digital download and streaming services.

Rhino.com will also offer exclusive bundles that pair both the 6 CD and 6 LP versions of the set with a 12” x 12” lithograph of a classic Taylor photo from 1970. Additionally, the first 350 pre-orders of the LP version from Rhino.com with come with a signed version of the lithograph.

Each album in the set has been remastered, a process overseen by Peter Asher, who signed Taylor to the Beatles’ Apple Records label in 1968, worked as his manager for 25 years, and originally produced several of these albums.

In the collection’s liner notes Asher writes, “Revisiting these albums several decades later has been revelatory, nostalgic, and exciting. I have heard bits and pieces frequently over the years, of course, but listening with concentration and in detail to each of the original tapes without interruption has been a thrilling luxury.”

The Complete Warner Bros. Albums: 1970-1976 includes: Sweet Baby James (1970), Mud Slide Slim and the Blue Horizon (1971), One Man Dog (1972), Walking Man (1974), Gorilla (1975), and In the Pocket (1976).

The collection is filled with some of Taylor’s most iconic and beloved songs like “Sweet Baby James,” “Fire And Rain,” “Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight,” “Walking Man,” “How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You),” “Mexico,” “Shower The People” and Carole King’s “You’ve Got A Friend,” the later which was Taylor’s first No. 1 hit and earned him his first Grammy Award (Best Male Pop Vocal) in 1971.

The collection also offers up some spectacular deep cuts like his acoustic lullaby “You Can Close Your Eyes” from Mud Slide Slim and the Blue Horizon; the ten minute song cycle that closes One Dog Man; “Rock ’n’ Roll Music Is Now” from Walking Man, which features backing vocals by Paul and Linda McCartney; and “Don’t Be Sad ’Cause Your Sun Is Down” from In the Pocket, a song Taylor wrote and recorded with Stevie Wonder.

6 CD | 6 LP

CD/LP 1:

1. Sweet Baby James (2019 Remaster)
2. Lo and Behold (2019 Remaster)
3. Sunny Skies (2019 Remaster)
4. Steamroller Blues (2019 Remaster)
5. Country Road (2019 Remaster)
6. Oh, Susannah (2019 Remaster)
7. Fire and Rain (2019 Remaster)
8. Blossom (2019 Remaster)
9. Anywhere like Heaven (2019 Remaster)
10. Oh Baby, Don’t You Loose Your Lip on Me (2019 Remaster)
11. Suite for 20 G (2019 Remaster)

CD/LP 2:

1. Love Has Brought Me Around (2019 Remaster)
2. You’ve Got a Friend (2019 Remaster)
3. Places in My Past (2019 Remaster)
4. Riding on a Railroad (2019 Remaster)
5. Soldiers (2019 Remaster)
6. Mud Slide Slim (2019 Remaster)
7. Hey Mister, That’s Me up on the Jukebox (2019 Remaster)
8. You Can Close Your Eyes (2019 Remaster)
9. Machine Gun Kelly (2019 Remaster)
10. Long Ago and Far Away (2019 Remaster)
11. Let Me Ride (2019 Remaster)
12. Highway Song (2019 Remaster)
13. Isn’t It Nice to Be Home Again (2019 Remaster)

CD/LP 3:

1. One Man Parade (2019 Remaster)
2. Nobody but You (2019 Remaster)
3. Chili Dog (2019 Remaster)
4. Fool for You (2019 Remaster)
5. Instrumental I (2019 Remaster)
6. New Tune (2019 Remaster)
7. Back on the Street Again (2019 Remaster)
8. Don’t Let Me Be Lonely Tonight (2019 Remaster)
9. Woh, Don’t You Know (2019 Remaster)
10. One Morning in May (2019 Remaster)
11. Instrumental II (2019 Remaster)
12. Someone (2019 Remaster)
13. Hymn (2019 Remaster)
14. Fanfare (2019 Remaster)
15. Little David (2019 Remaster)
16. Mescalito (2019 Remaster)
17. Dance (2019 Remaster)
18. Jig (2019 Remaster)

CD/LP 4:

1. Walking Man (2019 Remaster)
2. Rock ‘n’ Roll Is Music Now (2019 Remaster)
3. Let It All Fall Down (2019 Remaster)
4. Me and My Guitar (2019 Remaster)
5. Daddy’s Baby (2019 Remaster)
6. Ain’t No Song (2019 Remaster)
7. Hello Old Friend (2019 Remaster)
8. Migration (2019 Remaster)
9. The Promised Land (2019 Remaster)
10. Fading Away (2019 Remaster)

CD/LP 5:

1. Mexico (2019 Remaster)
2. Music (2019 Remaster)
3. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) [2019 Remaster]
4. Wandering (2019 Remaster)
5. Gorilla (2019 Remaster)
6. You Make It Easy (2019 Remaster)
7. I Was a Fool to Care (2019 Remaster)
8. Lighthouse (2019 Remaster)
9. Angry Blues (2019 Remaster)
10. Love Songs (2019 Remaster)
11. Sarah Maria (2019 Remaster)

CD/LP 6:

1. Shower the People (2019 Remaster)
2. A Junkie’s Lament (2019 Remaster)
3. Money Machine (2019 Remaster)
4. Slow Burning Love (2019 Remaster)
5. Everybody Has the Blues (2019 Remaster)
6. Daddy’s All Gone (2019 Remaster)
7. Woman’s Gotta Have It (2019 Remaster)
8. Captain Jim’s Drunken Dream (2019 Remaster)
9. Don’t Be Sad ‘Cause Your Sun Is Down (2019 Remaster)
10. Nothing like a Hundred Miles (2019 Remaster)
11. Family Man (2019 Remaster)
12. Golden Moments (2019 Remaster)

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com