Jelly Roll, Lainey Wilson top 2023 CMT Music Awards

Both take home multiple wins

The fans have spoken and winners were revealed when the biggest names in music and entertainment gathered in Austin tonight (Sun, Apr 2nd) for the 2023 CMT Music Awards. Co-hosted by Kane Brown and Kelsea Ballerini, the live show Austin featured epic performances, first-ever collaborations, and world premieres as part of country music’s entirely fan-voted awards show.

First-time winners claimed the night with most wins for Jelly Roll with three, closely followed by Lainey Wilson with two, and with Hardy, Megan Moroney and Katelyn Brown taking home one belt buckle each.

Singer-songwriter-rapper Jelly Roll was the night’s top CMTMA winner, taking home three trophies for “Male Video of the Year,” “Breakthrough Male Video of the Year,” and “Digital-First Performance.” He also took the sold out crowd to church joined by the Huston-Tillotson University choir for the debut rendition of his hit single “Need A Favor.”

Yellowstone star and the year’s most-nominated artist first fired up the night belting her triumphant hit song “Heart Like A Truck,” later taking home the award for “Female Video of the Year” for the same song in addition to “Collaborative Video of the Year” with Hardy.

Kane Brown and wife Katelyn Brown make history as the first married couple to take home the night’s biggest award, marking Katelyn’s very first CMT Award win and Kane’s first “Video of the Year” trophy.

Texas native Megan Thee Stallion honored 2023 CMT Equal Play Award trailblazer Shania Twain with an inspiring tribute highlighting the multi-award winning artist’s stellar career, advocacy, and impact. Twain accepted the 2023 Equal Play Award honoring the star for her boundary-shattering career and influence in elevating underrepresented voices. Shania delivered a heartfelt speech sharing how much Equal Play means to her and that she values the importance of including everyone regardless of gender or age in country music.

The 2023 CMT Music Awards featured performances by today’s most popular music artists, including Alanis Morissette + Ingrid Andress, Lainey Wilson, Madeline Edwards and Morgan Wade, Blake Shelton, Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Cody Johnson, Gwen Stefani + Carly Pearce, Jelly Roll, Kane Brown + Katelyn Brown, Keith Urban, Kelsea Ballerini, Lainey Wilson, The Black Crowes + Darius Rucker, Tyler Hubbard, and Wynonna Judd + Ashley McBryde. All-Star Tributes included Lynyrd Skynyrd feat. Billy Gibbons, Chuck Leavell, Cody Johnson, Paul Rodgers, Slash & Warren Haynes with LeAnn Rimes & Wynonna Judd joining as The Honkettes; and Gary Clark Jr. performing a tribute to Stevie Ray Vaughan.

Emerging artists Avery Anna, Chapel Hart, Jackson Dean, Lily Rose, Megan Moroney and Nate Smith also performed from the Ram Trucks Side Stage.

Presenters included Carly Pearce, Carrie Underwood, Charles Esten, Dixie D’Amelio, Dustin Lynch, Hardy, Ian Bohen + Jen Landon (Yellowstone), Jon Pardi, LeAnn Rimes, Madison Bailey (Outer Banks), Max Thieriot (CBS’ Fire Country), Megan Thee Stallion, Noah Schnapp (Stranger Things), Parker McCollum, Peter Frampton, Shania Twain, Steve Howey (True Lies) and Travis Kelce.

Country music’s only entirely fan-voted show aired Sunday, April 2nd on the CBS Television Network; the show was also be available to stream live and on demand on Paramount+.

As previously announced, CMT will air CMT Music Awards Extended Cut with an added 30 minutes of new performances and extra bonus content on Thursday, April 6th from 8-11:30 pm ET/PT on CMT.

2023 CMT Music Awards Winners:

  • Video of the Year – Kane Brown & Katelyn Brown – “Thank God”
  • Female Video of the Year – Lainey Wilson – “Heart Like A Truck”
  • Male Video of the Year – Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner”
  • Group/Duo Video of the Year – Zac Brown Band – “Out In The Middle”
  • Breakthrough Female Video of the Year – Megan Moroney – “Tennessee Orange”
  • Breakthrough Male Video of the Year – Jelly Roll – “Son Of A Sinner”
  • Collaborative Video of the Year – Hardy featuring Lainey Wilson – “Wait in the Truck”
  • CMT Performance of the Year – Cody Johnson – “‘Til You Can’t” (from 2022 CMT Music Awards)
  • CMT Digital-First Performance of the Year – Jelly Roll – “Son of A Sinner” (from CMT All Access)

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: