Kane Brown, Sarah Hyland co-hosting 2020 CMT Music Awards

Live show airs Wed, Oct 21

CMT has announced country star Kane Brown and actor, musician and producer Sarah Hyland will be two of the famous faces sharing hosting duties for the 2020 CMT Music Awards, country music’s only entirely fan-voted award show, airing Wednesday, October 21st at 8 pm ET/PT on CMT, MTV, MTV2, Logo, Paramount Network, Pop and TV Land. In a first for CMT, a total of four individual hosts will take the star-studded stage with two additional hosts to be revealed closer to air date.

“From our first conversations about this year’s show, we knew we wanted multiple hosts who reflected both our artists and our audience,” shares CMT show producers. “Kane and Sarah are young stars on momentous career rolls: Sarah is an award-winning, sought-after Hollywood actor who’s been a familiar face to millions of TV households for over 10 years; and Kane is a self-made success story who has skyrocketed to country music fame by crossing musical genres and delivering history-making hits. We’re thrilled to welcome them both to their first-time hosting duties at the CMT Music Awards.

“And in true 2020 fashion, where just about anything can happen, we have a big surprise up our collective sleeves, and look forward to announcing our final two hosts to add to this illuminous line-up.”

“The CMT Music Awards have always been about bringing the fans and their favorite artists together to celebrate,” Brown shares. “I have so many great memories of the show-from watching as a fan at home to accepting my first industry award win on the CMT stage. I‘m excited to join this year as a first-time host and can’t wait for everyone to see the amazing performances that are lined up this year.”

“I’m so excited to be co-hosting the 2020 CMT Music Awards this year!” Hyland states. “Fans are the backbone of music and art; without them we would never be able to do what we love. I can’t wait to see what happens at this year’s show and who the fans vote for. Congratulations to all the nominees!”

As previously announced, Brown along with fellow hitmakers Ashley McBryde, Dan + Shay, Little Big Town, Luke Bryan and Maren Morris will take the stage at this year’s 2020 CMT Music Awards, alongside country music’s biggest breakout artists Caylee Hammack, HARDY, Ingrid Andress, Mickey Guyton, Riley Green and Travis Denning on the Ram Side Stage, all bringing Nashville’s one-of-a-kind energy to music fans across the globe through epic outdoor performances in and around Music City. Additional performers and presenters will be announced at a later date.

Fan voting is now open at vote.cmt.com and continues until Monday, October 12 at noon EST. Nominations were announced last month via Instagram Reels with Ashley McBryde, Dan + Shay, Kelsea Ballerini, Luke Combs, Sam Hunt and Thomas Rhett competing for the most accolades of the evening, each with three nominations spanning “Video of the Year,” “Female Video of the Year” and “Male Video of the Year.” Other artists with multiple nominations include Blanco Brown, Carrie Underwood, Gabby Barrett, Kane Brown, Little Big Town, Miranda Lambert, Old Dominion and The Chicks, who return with their first CMT nomination since 2007.

2020 CMT Music Awards is executive produced by CMT’s Margaret Comeaux, Switched On Entertainment’s John Hamlin and Amy Lin Johnson; the Executives in Charge of Production are Jackie Barba and Heather D. Graffagnino.

Official sponsors of the event are Kit Kat, PEDIGREE and the Ram Truck Brand.

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: info@themusicuniverse.com
Articles: 11235