New Randy Travis gospel compilations announced

Two new project set for release

Gaither Music Group has announced that they will release a compilation of worship songs and hymns from seven-time GRAMMY winner Randy Travis with an album titled Precious Memories and an accompanying DVD entitled Worship & Faith. Filmed in 2003 at Calvary Assembly of God in Orlando, FL, Travis and his band performed songs including “I’ll Fly Away,” “Three Wooden Crosses” and “Just a Closer Walk With Thee” among other favorites. The newly repackaged album includes songs such as “How Great Thou Art,” “Softly and Tenderly” and “The Unclouded Day.” The package is available for preorder now and will be released on February 21st.

Travis is no stranger to gospel music having released the smash hit “Three Wooden Crosses” in 2002. The song became his 16th No. 1 single winning Song of the Year at the 2003 CMA Awards and Country Song of the Year at the 2004 Dove Awards. It was his first entry in the Top 40 on the Billboard Hot 100 Chart. He has released four gospel albums which all charted on the Billboard Country charts; with three of them also charting on the All-Genre and Christian Album Charts.

The recordings will be featured as a TV special on networks including PBS, TBN, RFD-TV, DirecTV, DISH TV, GaitherTV, FamilyNet, The Heartland Network, CTN, GMC, GMTN, Guardian, Liberty, TCT and TLN. It will air in Canada on Vision TV, CTS, The Miracle Channel and Hope TV. The Worship & Faith DVD and Precious Memories CD are exclusively distributed by Capitol Christian Distribution and Universal Music and will be available throughout general market stores and the Christian marketplace in addition to Cracker Barrel Old Country Store. The products will be available with prime positioning at online retailers including iTunes, YouTube, Pandora, Apple Music, Amazon Music, Spotify and

On March 6th, Word Entertainment will release Three Wooden Crosses: The Biggest Inspirational Hits of Randy Travis on vinyl. The set will contain ten tracks, including the title track and other gospel staples. A Walmart exclusive white colored vinyl will also be available.

A new feature in the February/March issue of Cowboys & Indians, titled “The Quieter Years of Randy Travis,” sums up his journey since his 2013 stroke that stole his award-winning and universally-known voice. Along with author Ken Abraham, he released a memoir Forever and Ever, Amen: A Memoir of Music, Faith and Braving the Storms of Life in 2019 to critical acclaim and widespread success. Last year the music icon also released two never-before-heard songs and joined James Dupre on the road for the Music of Randy Travis Tour, before being abruptly canceled.


CD: Precious Memories

  1. Blessed Assurance
  2. How Great Thou Art
  3. In The Garden
  4. Softly And Tenderly
  5. I’ll Fly Away
  6. Peace In The Valley
  7. Precious Memories
  8. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  9. The Unclouded Day
  10. Sweet By And By
  11. Are You Washed In The Blood?
  12. Three Wooden Crosses

DVD: Worship & Faith

  1. Shall We Gather At The River?
  2. You Are Worthy Of My Praise
  3. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  4. We Fall Down
  5. Will The Circle Be Unbroken?
  6. He’s My Rock, My Sword, My Shield
  7. Peace In The Valley
  8. Sweet By And By
  9. Open The Eyes Of My Heart
  10. Turn Your Radio On
  11. Above All
  12. Love Lifted Me
  13. I’ll Fly Away
  14. Pray For The Fish
  15. Three Wooden Cross

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.