Shop Now!Thanks for your support!

‘Scott Pilgrim Vs. The World’ deluxe vinyl edition detailed

Limited vinyl edition includes Brie Larson performance of “Black Sheep” and 11 other previously unreleased tracks

This year marks the tenth anniversary of the theatrical release of Universal Pictures’ Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. The film adaptation by director Edgar Wright (Hot Fuzz, Baby Driver) of Bryan Lee O’Malley’s graphic novel series stars Michael Cera, Mary Elizabeth Winstead and Kieran Culkin and has since become a cult classic.

Now ABKCO, with Edgar Wright and Nigel Godrich’s oversight, has curated an expanded, four LP picture disc Seven Evil Exes Edition offering of the soundtrack and score, including more performances by Sex Bob-Omb and demos from Beck, as well as fan-favorite “Black Sheep” by Metric and sung by actress Brie Larson. The set is slated for release on March 26th.

Each side of each LP features an image of one of the “Seven Evil Exes” from the film, plus an image of Scott Pilgrim and Ramona Flowers on the eighth side. This marks the first time ever that Godrich’s score will get a vinyl release, which will also be available separately on a blue vinyl 2 LP set, also on March 26th.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World finds Cera’s character smitten by Ramona Flowers (Winstead) and having to battle her seven evil exes who are out to kill him. Interwoven into the plot is a plethora of fictitious music groups acting out the performances of original compositions by real recording artists. Under the direction of producer Godrich (Radiohead, Paul McCartney, U2), Beck provided the music for Scott’s low-fi garage band Sex Bob-Omb, Canadian synth-rockers Metric did the same for The Clash at Demonhead (fronted by Brie Larson), Broken Social Scene wrote and recorded for Crash and the Boys, and faux DJ duo Katayanagi Twins were brought to life by Cornelius. In some cases, the finished songs incorporate actual vocal and instrumental contributions from the actors who appear in the film.

Wright and Godrich worked together for a two-year period, during which they essentially cast ultimate fantasy bands and got non-musician actors to learn their respective instruments with the aid of Chris Murphy from the band Sloan. The original soundtrack, which went to No. 2 on the Billboard soundtrack chart, also includes songs by Frank Black, Beachwood Sparks, Black Lips, T. Rex, Blood Red Shoes, The Rolling Stones and The Bluetones.

Edgar Wright, who in the last decade has written/directed The World’s End and Baby Driver and has directed the upcoming psychological thriller Last Night in Soho, waxes nostalgic about the music of Scott Pilgrim vs. the World. He commented, “It’s been ten years since Scott Pilgrim first made it to the big screen and I think the fact that it’s become so enshrined in the consciousness of so many for so long is due, in no small part, to the fact that the action was so music-driven. The Scott Pilgrim soundtrack and the score have played a huge role in making this an enduring phenomenon.”

Since its release, Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) has received many accolades. UK’s The Independent ranked it at No. 4 out of “the 40 greatest film soundtracks of all time,” declaring that Wright “found a way to seamlessly integrate his soundtrack into Scott Pilgrim vs. the World’s narrative.” It was also included on Alternative Press’ list of “16 Fantastic Movie Soundtracks You Need To Hear.” “We Are Sex Bob-Omb” won the 2010 Houston Film Critics Society Award for Best Original Song.

Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) Seven Evil Exes Edition will come with notes and musings from both Edgar Wright and Nigel Godrich, a new double-sided 24”x36” film poster and an exclusive coloring page with artwork by Scott Pilgrim creator Bryan Lee O’Malley.

Scott Pilgrim. vs the World fans will also be able to experience the Universal Pictures film exclusively in Dolby Cinema in 2021.

4 LP Soundtrack/Score | 2 LP Score

LP 1: Soundtrack

A1. We Are Sex Bob-Omb – Sex Bob-Omb
A2. Scott Pilgrim – Plumtree
A3. I Heard Ramona Sing – Frank Black
A4. By Your Side – Beachwood Sparks
A5. O Katrina! – The Black Lips
A6. I’m So Sad, So Very, Very Sad – Crash and the Boys
A7. We Hate You Please Die – Crash and the Boys
A8. Garbage Truck – Sex Bob-Omb

B1. Teenage Dream – T. Rex
B2. Sleazy Bed Track – The Bluetones
B3. It’s Getting Boring By The Sea – Blood Red Shoes
B4. Black Sheep – Metric

LP 2: Soundtrack/Bonus Tracks

C1. Threshold – Sex Bob-Omb
C2. Anthems For A Seventeen Year Old Girl – Broken Social Scene
C3. Under My Thumb – The Rolling Stones
C4. Ramona (Acoustic Version) – Beck
C5. Ramona – Beck
C6. Summbertime – Sex Bob-Omb
C7. Threshold (8 Bit) – Brian LeBarton

D1. Black Sheep (Brie Larson Vocal Version) – Metric [Bonus Track]
D2. No Fun – Sex Bob-Omb [Bonus Track]
D3. Garbage Truck – Beck [Bonus Track]
D4. Threshold – Beck [Bonus Track]
D5. Indefatigable – Sex Bob-Omb [Bonus Track]
D6. Go! – Plumtree [Bonus Track]
D7. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 1) – Beck [Bonus Track]
D8. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 2) – Beck [Bonus Track]
D9. Ramona (Acoustic Demo Idea 3) – Beck [Bonus Track]
D10. Ramona (Mellotron Version) – Beck [Bonus Track]
D11. Summertime – Beck [Bonus Track]
D12. Enter Goddess – Nigel Godrich [Bonus Track]

LP 3: Score

E1. Universal Theme
E2. Hillcrest Park
E3. Fight!
E4. Slick (Patel’s Song) – Dan the Automator
E5. Love Me Some Walking
E6. Talk To The Fist
E7. Rumble
E8. Feel The Wrath
E9. The Grind

F1. Hello Envy
F2. Mystery Attacker
F3. Second Cup
F4. The Vegan
F5. Bass Battle – Nigel Godrich/Jason Falkner/Justin Meldal-Johnsen
F6. Sorry I Guess
F7. Roxy

LP 4: Score

G1. The Ninth Circle
G2. Katanayagi Twins Vs Sex Bob-Omb – Beck & Cornelius
G3. This Fight Is Over
G4. Giedon Calling
G5. Level 7
G6. Welcome To Chaos Theatre
G7. We Are Sex Bob-Omb (Fast) – Beck/Nigel Godrich
G8. Fast Entrance Into Hell
G9. Chau Down
G10. Game Over
G11. So Alone
G12. Round 2

H1. Death To All Hipsters – Nigel Godrich & Beck
H2. A Different Guy
H3. Boss Battle
H4. Blowing Up Right Now
H5. Aftermath
H6. Bye and Stuff
H7. Love – Osymyso
H8. Ramona – Osymyso
H9. Prepare – Osymyso
H10. Ninja Ninja Revolution – Dan the Automator