America’s Capitol Records albums comprised into box set

New box set presents six newly-remastered Capitol albums

On May 24th, Capitol/UMe will release America: Classic Album Collection – The Capitol Years, a new 6 CD box set and digital collection presenting the GRAMMY-winning band’s 1979-1985 Capitol Records albums together for the first time. All six albums have been newly remastered by Andy Pearce for the collection, which also includes four bonus mono single edits.

America: Classic Album Collection – The Capitol Years features Silent Letter (plus two bonus mono single edits), Alibi (plus two bonus mono single edits), View From The Ground, Your Move, Perspective, and In Concert. The collection’s six CDs are housed in a clamshell box with a detailed booklet including comments from the band on the making and impact of the albums.

This year marks America’s 49th anniversary. Founding members Gerry Beckley and Dewey Bunnell (along with former bandmate Dan Peek) formed the band in 1970 and quickly harmonized their way to the top of the charts with their first signature hit, “A Horse With No Name.” Following the runaway success of the No. 1 single, America became a global household name and released an impressive string of hits. In 1972, America won the GRAMMY Award for Best New Artist, and in 1974, they began working with producer George Martin and engineer Geoff Emerick, with whom they recorded seven albums and several Top Ten hits, including “Tin Man,” “Sister Golden Hair,” and “Lonely People.”

Released in 1979 after Peek’s departure from the group, Silent Letter was America’s eighth studio album and their first with Capitol Records. The album was produced by George Martin and recorded at Martin’s AIR Studios Montserrat. The singles “All My Life” and “All Around” both reached the Top 50 of Billboard’s Adult Contemporary chart. The new box set includes both songs’ mono edits as bonus tracks.

For 1980’s Alibi, Beckley and Bunnell teamed with producers Matthew McCauley and Fred Mollin, with Waddy Wachtel, Leland Sklar, Steve Lukather, Richard Page, J.D. Souther, James Newton Howard, and the Eagles’ Timothy B. Schmit joining them for the album’s sessions. The box set includes the mono edits for the singles “You Could’ve Been the One” and “Hangover” as bonus tracks.

1982’s View From The Ground returned America to the top of the charts. Beckley and Bunnell self-produced several tracks on the album, and they once again collaborated with notable guest musicians for the album’s sessions, including Christopher Cross, Carl Wilson of The Beach Boys, Toto’s Jeff Porcaro, and Dean Parks. Former Argent guitarist Russ Ballard wrote and produced the album’s Top Ten hit, “You Can Do Magic.” Ballard also played all the instruments and sang background vocals on the track. The album’s second single, the Ian Thomas-written “Right Before Your Eyes,” peaked at No. 16 on Billboard’s Adult Contemporary chart.

1983’s Your Move was produced by Russ Ballard, who wrote six of its songs and co-wrote “The Border” with Bunnell. Arranged with strings by the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra and a saxophone solo by Raphael Ravenscroft, “The Border” peaked at No. 4 on Billboard’s Adult Contemporary chart and No. 33 Pop.

For 1984’s Perspective, America’s last studio album with Capitol, Beckley and Bunnell worked with producers Richie Zito, Matthew McCauley, and Richard James Burgess. The album’s style was a major departure from the duo’s previous style, employing synthesizers and drum machines. The album’s singles, “Special Girl” (written by Eddie Schwartz) and “Can’t Fall Asleep to a Lullabye” (with Steve Perry backing Bunnell’s lead vocal), peaked at No. 15 and No. 26 on Billboard’s Adult Contemporary chart, respectively. Perspective also includes “Stereo,” a collaboration between Beckley and Jimmy Webb.

America’s final Capitol release, 1985’s In Concert album was recorded live on June 1, 1985 at Santa Barbara, California’s Arlington Theatre and rush-released in July. The album features America’s top hits, including “Horse With No Name,” “Tin Man,” “You Can Do Magic,” “Sister Golden Hair,” “The Border,” and more.

Nearly 50 years since America’s debut, Gerry Beckley and Dewey Bunnell are still making music together, touring the world and thrilling audiences with their timeless sound. America was inducted into the Vocal Group Hall of Fame in 2006, and in 2012, they were honored with a star on the Hollywood Walk of Fame.

6 CD

[one_half]Silent Letter

1. Only Game in Town
2. All Around
3. Tall Treasures
4. 1960
5. And Forever
6. Foolin’
7. All Night
8. No Fortune
9. All My Life
10. One Morning
11. High in The City
12. Only Game in Town – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
13. All Around – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]


1. Survival
2. Might Be Your Love
3. Catch That Train
4. You Could’ve Been the One
5. I Don’t Believe in Miracles
6. I Do Believe in You
7. Hangover
8. Right Back to Me
9. Coastline
10. Valentine
11. One in A Million
12. You Could’ve Been the One – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]
13. Hangover – Mono Edit [Bonus Track]

View From The Ground

1. You Can Do Magic
2. Never Be Lonely
3. You Girl
4. Inspector Mills
5. Love on the Vine
6. Desperate Love
7. Right Before Your Eyes
8. Jody
9. Sometimes Lovers
10. Even the Score[/one_half]

[one_half_last]Your Move

1. My Kinda Woman
2. She’s A Runaway
3. Cast the Spirit
4. Love’s Worn Out Again
5. The Border
6. Your Move
7. Honey
8. My Dear
9. Tonight Is for Dreamers
10. Don’t Let Me Be Lonely
11. Someday Woman


1. We Got All Night
2. See How the Love Goes
3. (Can’t Fall Asleep to A) Lullaby
4. Special Girl
5. 5th Avenue
6. (It’s Like You) Never Left at All
7. Stereo
8. Lady With A Bluebird
9. Cinderella
10. Unconditional Love
11. Fallin’ Off the World

In Concert

1. Tin Man
2. I Need You
3. The Border
4. Sister Golden Hair
5. Company
6. You Can Do Magic
7. Ventura Highway
8. Daisy Jane
9. A Horse With No Name
10. Survival[/one_half_last]

Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email: