Common announces ‘A Beautiful Revolution Pt 2’

New single debuts on The Tonight Show With Jimmy Fallon alongside The Roots

Academy Award, Grammy and Emmy award-winning artist Common announces his highly anticipated follow up album, A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2, will be released digitally on September 10th. Common will also be debuting his new single from the album, “When We Move” featuring Black Thought, Thursday (Aug 19th) on The Tonight Show Starring Jimmy Fallon.

Common sat down on the TODAY this morning (Wed, Aug 18th) to chat about his new music and revealed his latest album title and release date live on air. He also performed the hit first single off the album, “Imagine.” “Imagine” dares listeners to imagine a world the way it should be. One where people treat each other with respect, listen to diverse points of view, and whose actions are community minded. “Imagine” is currently sat on the A-list at BBC 6Music.

A Beautiful Revolution Pt. 2 was created with hope and inspiration in mind. The spirit of the album was meant to emulate what a greater day would sound and feel like. We were in the midst of some tough political and socially challenging times,” Common shares. “There was still hurt, anger and pain lingering, so I was thinking, ‘What is the next step in this revolution?” I thought about what being still in these times had brought me and that was a peace beyond understanding, a greater love for self, a closer connection with God, and more appreciation for my family, friends and the simple things in life. I wanted to write about that and create music that embodied that. What does a new day, a brighter day feel like being told through an emcee and some gifted musicians? How could this music be an example of the beautiful aspects of revolution that include joy, self-love, compassion, dreams, peace and good times? As a piece of art, I believe we took it to different places musically only to come back to the original intention. To bring joy to people’s hearts, fun to their lives and smiles to their souls.”

The set will be available on CD and vinyl on Friday, December 10th. Vinyl includes special first time pressing colored neon magenta on Common’s webstore and classic black vinyl at regular retail. The CD will be housed in a handsome jewel case package showcasing the album’s vibrant artwork.


  1. Intro (Push Out The Noise) featuring Jessica Care Moore
  2. A Beautiful Chicago Kid featuring PJ
  3. When We Move featuring Black Thought and Seun Kuti
  4. Set It Free featuring PJ
  5. Majesty (Where We Gonna Take It) featuring PJ
  6. Poetry featuring Marcus King and Isaiah Sharkey
  7. Saving Grace featuring Brittany Howard
  8. Star of The Gang featuring PJ
  9. Imagine featuring PJ
  10. Get It Right
  11. Outro (Exclamation Point) featuring Morgan Parker

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11306