Ellie Goulding details double-sided ‘Brightest Blue’ album

Set is available July 17th via Interscope Records

Global superstar Ellie Goulding has revealed details of her highly anticipated fourth studio album, Brightest Blue, with a new release date of July 17th on Interscope Records. The project will include a number of recent releases alongside a plethora of new songs, with the album being set in two parts, “Brightest Blue” (executively produced by Ellie Goulding & Joe Kearns) and “EG.0,” respectively. Across the two halves, Goulding has enlisted a number of writers and producers to help create the finished product, including the likes of Tobias Jesso Jr., Starsmith, ILYA, serpentwithfeet, Patrick Wimberly (of Chairlift) and Jim Eliot amongst others.

Explaining her thoughts behind the first half of the record, Goulding says that it “reflects my vulnerability… it acknowledges a complex world where relationships still dictate our happiness and heartbreak and can still be the most painful thing in the world, no matter how enlightened you are. The tracks also symbolize growing up and becoming a woman.” The second half of the album, “encapsulates my confident, brave and fearless side and features all my recent collaborations,” Ellie says. She elaborates, “I often find myself writing about my thoughts and emotions in a way that I know will be catchy and memorable. I will always seek to use my voice in ways that no one would ever expect and look to collaborate with the least likely, exciting and eclectic group of other artists.”

Brightest Blue will be available at all retailers on CD, digital and double vinyl, and an exclusive CD edition will be available at Target which includes a special album cover and fold out poster (U.S. only). Additional formats including a limited edition box set that separates the album across two CDs, and apricot, frosted ice and pink recycled plastic cassette will be available at elliegoulding.com. Wherever possible, packaging has been manufactured using environmentally friendly materials and technologies to minimize overall impact and carbon footprint. Goulding shares, “great progress has been made on this and I’m pleased we’ve been able to push the industry forwards, but we are still pushing to do more.”

New track “Power,” from the “Brightest Blue” part of the new record, was released last week alongside the stunning new video shot in lockdown. In a prolific and bold new artistic chapter, “Power” is Goulding’s latest offering in a string of notable tracks including “Hate Me” with Juice WRLD, her smash, “Close to Me,” with Diplo and Swae Lee, and her most recent single, “Worry About Me,” featuring blackbear.

Goulding recently performed on NBC’s Red Nose Day Special, a star-studded telecast which raised money and awareness for children in need. She’s also been confirmed to perform on Good Morning America’s Summer Concert Series for the second year in a row.

Side A – “Brightest Blue”

  1. Start (ft. serpentwithfeet)
  2. Power
  3. How Deep Is Too Deep
  4. Cyan
  5. Love I’m Given
  6. New Heights
  7. Ode To Myself
  8. Woman
  9. Tides
  10. Wine Drunk
  11. Bleach
  12. Flux
  13. Brightest Blue

Side B – “EG.0”

  1. Overture
  2. Worry About Me (Feat. blackbear)
  3. Slow Grenade (Feat.Lauv)
  4. Close To Me (With Diplo) (Feat.Swae Lee)
  5. Hate Me (With Juice WRLD)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.