Final Buck Owens Capitol Records album getting released

Recorded in 1975, the artist’s last intended Capitol set features his final two singles for the label

Omnivore Recordings, in conjunction with the Buck Owens Estate, will release Country Singer’s Prayer, Buck Owens’ final Capitol album from 1975, which has remained unissued until now. Street date is August 17th.

By late 1975, Buck’s unequaled success at Capitol Records was finally winding down. His singles were no longer topping the charts, and after the untimely death of bandmate Don Rich the year before, Owens was starting to lose the fire that drove him through an unprecedented run of groundbreaking hits in the ’60s and early ’70s. His contract with Capitol was due to expire at the end of the year, and he and the Buckaroos readied one final album for the label in November 1975.

While several of Buck’s later Capitol recordings had not been topping the charts as before, his last single for them, Country Singer’s Prayer, failed to even make a showing.

Likely due to the indifference shown to that last single, the decision was made to shelve this final album, and assign the selection number to what was ultimately Owens’ last Capitol release, Best of Buck Owens, Vol. 6, which did include the last two singles originally intended for Country Singer’s Prayer: “Battle of New Orleans” and the title track.

While Owens would revisit some of these songs with producer Norro Wilson in Nashville after signing to Warner Bros. Records, the original recordings produced at Buck’s Bakersfield studio with the Buckaroos remained in the vault.

Country Singer’s Prayer will finally receive its release some 43 years late, taken from the original LP master tapes, in what was the intended sequence. Also included are the B-sides to his final two singles from the unissued album.

With new liner notes by Scott B. Bomar featuring interviews with longtime Buckaroos piano player Jim Shaw and Robert John Jones (a.k.a. Rocky Topp), who co-wrote “Country Singer’s Prayer,” this is a fascinating chance to experience Owens’ last intended Capitol album.

1. John Law
2. Love Don’t Make The Bars
3. He Ain’t Been Out Bowling With The Boys
4. Drifting Away
5. The Battle Of New Orleans
6. Country Singer’s Prayer
7. California Okie
8. A Different Kind Of Sad
9. It’s Been A Long, Long Time
10. How’s Everything
11. Run Him To The Round House Nellie (You Might Corner Him There) [Bonus Track]
12. Meanwhile Back At The Ranch [Bonus Track]

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.