Final Montgomery Gentry album set for release

The album was finished before Gentry’s death in September

Here’s To You, Montgomery Gentry’s long-awaited eighth studio album, will be released February 2, 2018 via Average Joe’s Entertainment. Here’s To You, is a stellar collection of new standout songs from the multi-platinum duo. Fans who pre-order the new album will instantly receive three tracks; “Get Down South,” “King of the World” and “Better Me,” the project’s first single.

Produced by award-winning producers, Noah Gordan and Shannon Houchins, the project follows the duo’s 2015 release, Folks Like Us, and previous Average Joes’ release, Rebels On The Run. Widely recognized for their legendary country sound, the new album showcases the breadth of talent from this outstanding duo and their musical evolution. After 20 years of touring and recording, Montgomery Gentry has emerged with a record that will be surely hold its own in today’s country music and prove to be one of the best records of their career.

Fans will have the opportunity to donate to TJ Martell when they pre-order Here’s To You via Pledge Music and can advantage of getting exclusive album and collectible bundles. Montgomery Gentry have been staunch supporters of The T.J. Martell Foundation through the years.

Here’s To You was finished shortly before Troy Gentry’s tragic death on September 8th at the Flying W Airport & Resort in Medford, NJ, hours before the duo was scheduled to perform a concert there. Eddie Montgomery and the band were at the airport when the accident happened. In its preliminary accident report, the National Transportation Safety Board (NTSB) has revealed that engine failure was the cause of the fatal crash that killed Gentry and 22-year-old pilot James Evan Robinson. The chopper ride was purely for pleasure and crashed shortly after taking off.

“Better Me” was released as the official first single following Gentry’s funeral at the Grand Ole Opry on September 14th. Following Gentry’s death, Montgomery stated, “I want to thank everyone for their support and prayers. Our world was turned upside down in an instant and nothing could have prepared us for this. Over the past few months, me and T-Roy have been working on what I think is the best record of our career. In the last few weeks we had been talking about what our first single would be. Then on September 8th, none of that mattered.”

Montgomery performed publicly for the first time since the incident at this week’s CMA Awards as a surprise guest. He joined Dierks Bentley and Rascal Flatts for the duo’s “My Town,” which paid tribute to his singing partner and brother of 30 years. The duo was inducted into the Grand Ole Opry in 2009 and were set to celebrate its 20th anniversary in 2018.

1. Shotgun Wedding
2. Better Me
3. Needing a Beer
4. What’cha Say We Don’t
5. Crazies Welcome
6. Get Down South
7. Drive on Home
8. Feet Back on the Ground
9. Drink Along Song
10. King of the World
11. That’s the Thing About America
12. All Hell Broke Loose

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.