Iggy Pop’s first three LPs coming to colored vinyl

Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) is celebrating Iggy Pop’s singular stature with new limited-edition colored-vinyl editions of his first three solo albums, The Idiot, Lust for Life and TV Eye Live on June 2nd. The three new colored-vinyl releases will be bundled together in a limited-edition-of-500 custom tote bag featuring the iconic cover art of The Idiot on one side and Lust for Life on the other, available exclusively at the UDiscoverMusic Store. All three titles feature their complete original cover art and will also be available from UMe in standard black vinyl editions at vinyl retailers.

The Idiot, Lust for Life and TV Eye Live, originally released between 1977 and 1978, marked Pop’s surprise rebirth as a solo artist after the dissolution of his pioneering protopunk band The Stooges. They also marked a timely collaboration between Pop and longtime admirer David Bowie, then at the peak of his cultural influence. Bowie produced, co-wrote and played on The Idiot and Lust for Life, and plays keyboards on TV Eye Live.

The three albums form a trilogy that remains a cornerstone of Iggy Pop’s album catalog. On The Idiot, such standout tunes as “Nightclubbing,” “Funtime,” “Dum Dum Boys” and the original version of “China Girl” (later an ’80s hit for Bowie) introduced listeners to a more cerebral, introspective Iggy, often substituting an understated sense of unease for The Stooges’ raw aural assault.

Pop’s smiling face on the front cover of Lust for Life signals the album’s more upbeat vibe than its predecessor, with such numbers as “The Passenger,” “Success,” “Tonight” and the anthemic title track embodying the album’s swaggering essence and Pop’s reenergized creative vision.

In contrast with the focused studio craft of The Idiot and Lust for Life, TV Eye Live—drawn from four different 1977 U.S. shows with two different bands, one featuring Bowie on keyboards—captures the controlled chaos of Pop’s raw live performances, with memorable versions of “Lust For Life,” “Sixteen” and “Nightclubbing,” along with The Stooges standards “I Wanna Be Your Dog,” “I Got A Right” and “T.V. Eye.”

The Idiot

Side A:

1. Sister Midnight
2. Nightclubbing
3. Funtime
5. China Girl

Side B:

1. Dum Dum Boys
2. Tiny Girls
3. Mass Production

Lust For Life

Side A:

1. Lust For Life
2. Sixteen
3. Some Weird Sin
4. The Passenger
5. Tonight

Side B:

1. Success
2. Turn Blue
3. Neighborhood Threat
4. Fall In Love With Me

TV Eye Live

Side A:

1. T.V. Eye
2. Funtime
3. Sixteen
4. I Got A Right

Side B:

1. Lust For Life
2. Dirt
3. Nightclubbing
4. I Wanna Be Your Dog

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.