Jethro Tull announces ‘The Zealot Gene’

New album set for 2022 release

Jethro Tull has announced details for the group’s first studio album of new material in over 18 years! Originally making headlines in March of this year, the band’s newest offering, titled The Zealot Gene, will see a January 28, 2022 release on Inside Out Music. The group has released the first single from the album, “Shoshana Sleeping,” accompanied by a stunning visual created by Thomas Hicks.

A record that began to take shape as early as 2017, The Zealot Gene, in many ways, seeks to defy convention during a time when the business of being a touring and recording artist has never faced more uncertainties. Tull bandleader Ian Anderson holds no reservations about the role for which the mythos and themes of Biblical storytelling played in the lyrical content of the new album, saying:

“While I have a spot of genuine fondness for the pomp and fairytale story-telling of the Holy Book, I still feel the need to question and draw sometimes unholy parallels from the text,” Anderson shares. “The good, the bad, and the downright ugly rear their heads throughout, but are punctuated with elements of love, respect, and tenderness.”

Looking back on the earth-shaking disruption of the coronavirus pandemic, which ultimately ended the band’s touring plans and hopes of a 2020 release for The Zealot Gene, Anderson shares, “It was so sudden. Amidst the concerns and warnings of the scientific community and a few more enlightened politicians, we all retreated in disbelief to our homes to wait out the storm.”

The project will be offered in multiple configurations including special edition digipak CD, 2 LP gatefold vinyl with CD, Limited 2 CD/Blu-ray Artbook and Limited Deluxe 3 LP/2 CD/Blu-ray Artwork. Both artbook editions feature a second CD of demos and initial ideas, plus extended liner notes and an interview with Anderson undertaken by Tim Bowness. The Deluxe 3 LP/2 CD/Blu-ray Artbook comes on white vinyl and includes a third LP with the rough demos, slipmat and a numbered art print. Exclusive bundles with red LPs available via the Jethro Tull webstore.

1. Mrs. Tibbets
2. Jacob’s Tales
3. Mine Is The Mountain
4. The Zealot Gene
5. Shoshana Sleeping
6. Sad City Sisters
7. Barren Beth, Wild Desert John
8. The Betrayal Of Joshua Kynde
9. Where Did Saturday Go?
10. Three Loves, Three
11. In Brief Visitation
12. The Fisherman Of Ephesus

Default image
Buddy Iahn
Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites. Email:
Articles: 11518