Pete Townshend’s ‘Who Came First’ gets 45th anniversary deluxe treatment

Pete Townshend’s solo debut album, Who Came First, is getting the 45th anniversary deluxe treatment on April 20th. Universal Music Enterprises (UMe) will release the album as a 2 CD expanded version, featuring eight previously unreleased tracks, new edits, alternative versions and live performances. Also included in the eight panel digipak are new sleeve notes provided by Townshend himself, the original poster from the 1972 release and a 24-page booklet which contains rare images of Meher Baba and Townshend in his recording studio. The cover photo of Townshend, taken by Graham Hughes (who also shot the cover of The Who’s Quadrophenia), has been updated for this release.

Who Came First has been remastered by long-term Pete Townshend and The Who collaborator Jon Astley using the original master tapes. The first CD consists of a remastered version of the original album while the second disc includes unreleased tracks, alternative versions and live performances.

The album collected together tracks from Townshend’s private pressings of his tributes to Meher BabaHappy Birthday and I Am, as well as demos from the unrealized concept album Lifehouse, part of which became The Who’s classic Who’s Next album.


2 CD

CD 1:

  1. Pure and Easy
  2. Evolution
  3. Forever’s No Time At All
  4. Let’s See Action
  5. Time Is Passing
  6. There’s a Heartache Following Me
  7. Sheraton Gibson
  8. Content
  9. Parvardigar

CD 2:

  1. His Hands
  2. The Seeker (2017 edit)
  3. Day Of Silence
  4. Sleeping Dog
  5. Mary Jane (Stage A Version)
  6. I Always Say (2017 Edit)
  7. Begin The Beguine (2017 edit)
  8. Baba O’Reilly (Instrumental)
  9. The Love Man (Stage C)*
  10. Content (Stage A)*
  11. Day Of Silence (Alternate Version)*
  12. Parvardigar (Alternate take)*
  13. Nothing Is Everything*
  14. There’s A Fortune In Those Hills*
  15. Meher Baba In Italy*
  16. Drowned (live in India)*
  17. Evolution (live at Ronnie Lane Memorial)

Author: Buddy Iahn

Buddy Iahn founded The Music Universe when he decided to juxtapose his love of web design and music. As a lifelong drummer, he decided to take a hiatus from playing music to report it. The website began as a fun project in 2013 to one of the top independent news sites.